H.R. No. 1540

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Milan Narayan has ably served his fellow Texans as
an intern in the office of State Representative Gene Wu during the
88th Legislative Session; and

WHEREAS, Since joining the staff, Mr. Narayan has provided vital assistance in handling a wide variety of challenging tasks, including tracking and analyzing legislation regarding firearms; in addition to gaining valuable experience in the field of public service, he has learned more about the legislative process and the jissues facing citizens of the Lone Star State; and

WHEREAS, A student in the Plan II Honors Program at The 10 11 University of Texas at Austin, Mr. Narayan is majoring in 12 government and plans to earn a certificate in applied statistical modeling; deeply committed to combating gun violence, he was the 13 14 vice president of his school's chapter of Students Demand Action and helped write an op-ed in the Houston Chronicle in the wake of a 15 shooting at his high school; he is an alumnus of the ACLU Advocacy 16 Institute and a former Fellow at the Johns Hopkins Summer Youth 17 Institute, and he has previously interned with Houston city council 18 member Abbie Kamin and in the offices of State Representatives Ann 19 20 Johnson and Ron Reynolds; and

21 WHEREAS, Milan Narayan has performed his duties as a 22 legislative intern with skill and dedication, and he is indeed 23 deserving of special recognition for his fine work; now, therefore, 24 be it

1

H.R. No. 1540

1 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 2 Legislature hereby commend Milan Narayan for his service as an 3 intern in the office of State Representative Gene Wu and extend to 4 him sincere best wishes for continued success in all his endeavors; 5 and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for Mr. Narayan as an expression of high regard by the 8 Texas House of Representatives.

Wu

H.R. No. 1540

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1540 was adopted by the House on May 19, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House