H.R. No. 1766

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Proud residents of New Fairview are recognizing the 2 50th anniversary of the incorporation of their city with a 3 celebration on May 20, 2023; and

WHEREAS, Located in Wise County as part of the Dallas-Fort 4 Worth Metroplex, New Fairview was originally referred to as 5 Illinois Settlement as many of its early residents had moved to the 6 area from that state; in the 1880s, land was donated for a cemetery, 7 church, and one-room school, and by the early 1900s, the city had 8 become known as Fairview, alluding to the "fair view of the prairie" 9 afforded by surrounding hilltops; many of the town's streets are 10 11 named for early settlers; and

WHEREAS, Fairview was officially incorporated on May 21, 13 1973, and in 1999, the community was renamed New Fairview to 14 distinguish it from other Texas towns of the same name; two decades 15 later, the city became a Type A general law municipality, and in 16 2020, it took on a council/manager form of government in which the 17 city administrator is the chief administrative officer; and

WHEREAS, Ranked as one of the region's fastest growing cities by the North Central Texas Council of Governments, New Fairview today is home to more than 2,000 residents; it is served by the Northwest and Decatur Independent School Districts, and Mayor John Taylor and the city council play a vital role in guiding residential and commercial growth while helping to preserve the community's rural small-town charm; and

1

1 WHEREAS, The citizens of New Fairview may indeed take great 2 pride in their city's rich heritage as they come together to 3 celebrate this significant milestone; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
Legislature hereby commemorate the 50th anniversary of the
incorporation of the City of New Fairview and extend to its citizens
sincere best wishes for the future.

Stucky

H.R. No. 1766

H.R. No. 1766

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1766 was adopted by the House on May 16, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House