H.R. No. 1796

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, An exemplary student received well-deserved
- 2 recognition when Laiza Hernandez-Legaspi was named a University of
- 3 Texas at El Paso Top Ten Senior for 2023; and
- WHEREAS, Presented by the UTEP Alumni Association, the award
- 5 recognizes the university's most promising graduating or recently
- 6 graduated seniors; honorees are chosen on the basis of multiple
- 7 criteria, including academic achievement, involvement, leadership,
- 8 and service, both in the community and on campus; and
- 9 WHEREAS, While studying biological sciences at UTEP,
- 10 Ms. Hernandez-Legaspi participated in the student organization
- 11 Future Educators of Math and Science; she also served as a tutor and
- 12 mentor at Bowie High School and with such community organizations
- 13 as Insights El Paso; committed to promoting STEAM (Science,
- 14 Technology, Engineering, Arts, and Math) learning, she went on to
- 15 be accepted to the ADP Math and Science Teachers Academy, the Robert
- 16 Noyce Teacher Scholarship Program, and UTEP's Tech-E; in the
- 17 future, she plans to earn master's and doctoral degrees in STEAM
- 18 education and to teach science in El Paso; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Through the dedication she has demonstrated in all
- 20 her endeavors, Laiza Hernandez-Legaspi has built a strong
- 21 foundation for continued achievement, and she is indeed deserving
- 22 of this prestigious accolade; now, therefore, be it
- 23 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 24 Legislature hereby congratulate Laiza Hernandez-Legaspi on her

H.R. No. 1796

- 1 receipt of a 2023 Top Ten Seniors Award from the UTEP Alumni
- 2 Association and extend to her sincere best wishes for the future;
- 3 and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 5 prepared for Ms. Hernandez-Legaspi as an expression of high regard
- 6 by the Texas House of Representatives.

Ortega

H.R. No. 1796

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1796 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House