H.R. No. 1904

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Gruver Elementary School and Gruver Junior High
- 2 School in the Gruver Independent School District have both been
- 3 named National Blue Ribbon Schools; and
- 4 WHEREAS, The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program was created
- 5 by the U.S. Department of Education in 1982 to recognize campuses
- 6 that have demonstrated superior academic performance or made
- 7 notable progress in improving outcomes among economically
- 8 disadvantaged students; one of the most prestigious honors an
- 9 elementary or secondary school in the United States can receive,
- 10 the Blue Ribbon designation is awarded each year to only a select
- 11 number of campuses nationwide; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Gruver Elementary School and Gruver Junior High
- 13 School, led by principals Amber Holland and Lexy Glass,
- 14 respectively, were designated as Blue Ribbon Schools in 2022;
- 15 Gruver Elementary serves students in prekindergarten through the
- 16 fourth grade, while Gruver Junior High serves students in fifth
- 17 through eighth grade; and
- 18 WHEREAS, Through hard work and perseverance, the teachers and
- 19 students of these exemplary campuses have established a record of
- 20 scholastic excellence, and their outstanding efforts have been duly
- 21 recognized with the Blue Ribbon School award; now, therefore, be it
- 22 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 23 Legislature hereby congratulate Gruver Elementary School and
- 24 Gruver Junior High School on their selection as 2022 National Blue

H.R. No. 1904

- 1 Ribbon Schools by the U.S. Department of Education and extend to all
- 2 those involved with the schools sincere best wishes for the future;
- 3 and, be it further
- 4 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
- 5 for the schools as an expression of high regard by the Texas House
- 6 of Representatives.

Price King of Hemphill

H.R. No. 1904

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1904 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House