RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The volleyball team from Bushland High School
- 2 distinguished itself with its exceptional performance during the
- 3 2022 season, advancing all the way to the University
- 4 Interscholastic League 3A state championship game; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Featuring eight experienced senior players, the
- 6 talented Bushland team lost just four games during the regular
- 7 season and entered the playoffs on a 24-game winning streak; in the
- 8 first round, the team overpowered Littlefield High School in three
- 9 straight sets, 25-8, 25-5, 25-11, and followed up with a commanding
- 10 25-9, 25-8, 25-11 victory over Crane High School in the area finals;
- 11 and
- 12 WHEREAS, In its regional quarterfinal contest, Bushland
- 13 defeated Shallowater High School 25-15, 25-17, 25-19, and the team
- 14 went on to clinch a spot in the regional finals with a 25-23, 25-9,
- 15 25-21 win over Wall High School; on November 12, the Lady Falcons
- 16 squared off against Holliday High School in the regional finals and
- 17 earned their fourth straight trip to the state tournament with a
- 18 25-18, 25-14, 25-14 sweep; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Taking the court at the Curtis Culwell Center in
- 20 Garland on November 17, Bushland met East Bernard High School in a
- 21 hard-fought semifinal battle; after the Lady Falcons opened with a
- 22 25-16 victory, they dropped their first set in 20 matches in a
- 23 narrow 22-25 loss; demonstrating exemplary poise and
- 24 determination, the team rose to the occasion and captured sets

- 1 three and four by the scores of 25-14 and 25-17 to move on to the
- 2 final; on November 19, Bushland competed in the title contest for
- 3 the third consecutive season, this time facing Gunter High School
- 4 in a rematch of the 2021 finale; the Lady Falcons turned in a
- 5 valiant effort but finished as the 3A runner-up, closing out the
- 6 year with an outstanding record of 41 wins and 5 losses; and
- 7 WHEREAS, The Lady Falcons were paced at state by
- 8 All-Tournament selections Kaela Neie and Logan Culpepper; Bushland
- 9 also received valuable contributions throughout the year from the
- 10 other members of the roster: Avery Ramos, Bayleigh Eason, Bella
- 11 Babbitt, Jada Permenter, Rachel Russell, Hannah Solomon, Camryn
- 12 Barton, Victoria Vaughn, Mackenzie Sims, Jayce Ornelas, Madyson
- 13 Eberly, Abby Howell, Hanna Samford, and Brooklyn Koenig; these
- 14 dedicated student-athletes were ably guided by head coach Jason
- 15 Culpepper and assistant coaches Amber Parkhurst and Scott Rankin,
- 16 and they received additional support from manager Brinley Reid and
- 17 statisticians Ansley Tiffin-Fernandez and Lillyann Shannon; and
- 18 WHEREAS, With its success during the 2022 season, Bushland
- 19 added another chapter to its illustrious history; over the years,
- 20 the Lady Falcons have taken home the state crown six times,
- 21 including the 2A title in 2007, 2008, and 2013, the 4A championship
- 22 in 2016, and back-to-back 3A triumphs in 2020 and 2021; moreover,
- 23 Bushland ranks high on the list of schools that have compiled the
- 24 most appearances in the volleyball state tournament, having reached
- 25 the final four 11 times since 2006; and
- 26 WHEREAS, Demonstrating exceptional skill and unwavering
- 27 commitment to excellence, the Bushland Lady Falcons have earned a

- 1 place among the top high school volleyball teams in Texas, and they
- 2 are a source of tremendous pride to their classmates and their many
- 3 supporters in the community; now, therefore, be it
- 4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 5 Legislature hereby congratulate the Bushland High School
- 6 volleyball team on advancing to the 2022 UIL 3A state championship
- 7 game and extend to the players, coaches, and staff sincere best
- 8 wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 9 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 10 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 11 House of Representatives.

Price

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 1947 was adopted by the House on May 25, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House