By: Smithee H.R. No. 2112

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The members of the tennis team from Randall High
- 2 School in Amarillo achieved great distinction with their
- 3 exceptional performances over the course of the 2022-2023 fall and
- 4 spring seasons; and
- 5 WHEREAS, On October 26 and 27, Randall joined the other top
- 6 high school competitors in Texas at the 2022 University
- 7 Interscholastic League Team Tennis State Tournament in College
- 8 Station; competing in the 4A bracket, the Raiders took on Boerne
- 9 High School in the final; triumphing 10-8, the Randall players
- 10 clinched the first state championship in program history and closed
- 11 out their fall campaign with a perfect 35-0 record; and
- 12 WHEREAS, In the spring, Randall advanced to the 2023 UIL
- 13 Tennis State Tournament, held April 25 and 26 in San Antonio; taking
- 14 the court against the state's other 4A qualifiers, the Raiders
- 15 turned in impressive performances; Ella Hester won the silver medal
- 16 in girls' singles, and Randall collected third-place finishes in
- 17 both boys' and girls' doubles, with Carson Dyess, Aidan Gilbert,
- 18 Kynley Craddock, and Landrey Posey all taking home bronze medals;
- 19 in addition, Lizzy Hollabaugh and Kaitlyn Craddock competed at
- 20 state in girls' doubles, and Dax Betzen was a regional qualifier in
- 21 singles; and
- 22 WHEREAS, Throughout the year, the Raiders also received
- 23 valuable contributions from the other members of the roster:
- 24 Sunshine Lane, David Monroe, Elijah Rodriguez, Bryson Shelton,

H.R. No. 2112

- 1 Gabby Dishong, Lando Ingersoll, Micah Perkins, Emmalee Sillivent,
- 2 Keaton Daniels, Elliott Day, Sawyer Eason, Eli Godwin, Scotlynn
- 3 Hendricks, Jordyn Hodges, Damian Martinez, Jazzy Phillips, and
- 4 Gavin Taylor; a total of 10 Randall players received All-State
- 5 recognition, 6 of the team's seniors were Academic All-State
- 6 honorees, 14 athletes earned All-District First Team accolades, and
- 7 7 were selected for the Texas High School Coaches Association Super
- 8 Elite Team; and
- 9 WHEREAS, The Raiders benefited from the able leadership of
- 10 head coach Darby Norman, who was chosen as the inaugural THSCA Coach
- 11 of the Year for team tennis and the Texas Tennis Coaches Association
- 12 Coach of the Year; the squad also enjoyed vital support from
- 13 assistant coaches John Stephens and Billy Ceniceros and manager
- 14 Jasmine Veitenheimer; and
- WHEREAS, Through hard work and an unwavering resolve to give
- 16 their very best, the Randall Raiders have earned the admiration of
- 17 their fellow students and their many community supporters, and they
- 18 may take great pride in their accomplishments; now, therefore, be
- 19 it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 21 Legislature hereby congratulate the Randall High School tennis team
- 22 on its outstanding success during the 2022-2023 fall and spring
- 23 seasons and extend to the players, coaches, and staff sincere best
- 24 wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 25 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 26 prepared for the Raiders as an expression of high regard by the
- 27 Texas House of Representatives.