H.R. No. 2117

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Sindhi Saqafat, a day of unity and celebration for 2 the people of Pakistan's Sindh province and members of the Sindhi 3 diaspora, is taking place on December 3, 2023; and

WHEREAS, The festival, which is also known as Sindhi Cultural Day, provides an opportunity for Sindhi people to showcase their centuries-old culture and to convey a message of peace and love to the world; and

8 WHEREAS, Since first being observed on December 6, 2009, the 9 festival has grown in popularity, and it is now celebrated in every 10 major city of Sindh and in many other areas across the globe; on 11 this occasion, revelers don traditional attire, including printed 12 shawls known as *ajrak* and caps known as *topi*, items that are also 13 exchanged as gifts at ceremonies held during the day; and

14 WHEREAS, Sindhi political, social, and religious organizations host a variety of activities throughout Sindhi 15 16 Saqafat, including poetry and literary readings, musical concerts, theatrical performances, seminars, rallies, debates, and bonfire 17 gatherings called mach kachehri; at the largest assemblies that 18 occur during Sindhi Saqafat, famous Sindhi singers perform 19 well-known tunes such as "Jeay Sindh Jeay-Sindh Wara Jean," the 20 21 Sindhi national song, as crowds dance jubilantly; and

WHEREAS, Sindhi Saqafat is a festive and joyful occasion for the global Sindhi community, whose members share a deep sense of pride in their culture, history, and heritage, and it is indeed

1

1 fitting to acknowledge the significance of the event for those of 2 Sindhi descent who reside in our state and nation; now, therefore, 3 be it

4 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 5 Legislature hereby commemorate Sindhi Saqafat 2023 and extend 6 sincere best wishes to those throughout the State of Texas who are 7 participating in the observance.

Lalani

H.R. No. 2117

H.R. No. 2117

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 2117

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2117 was adopted by the House on May 24, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House