H.R. No. 2139

RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Emma Sralla of Marcus High School in Flower Mound
- 2 achieved great distinction by winning the gold medal in the 6A
- 3 discus competition at the 2023 University Interscholastic League
- 4 Track & Field State Meet; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Joining the other top high school athletes in Texas
- 6 at Mike A. Myers Stadium in Austin on May 13, Ms. Sralla turned in
- 7 an exceptional performance; improving on the winning throw of 174
- 8 feet, 3 inches, she recorded at the 2022 state meet, she collected
- 9 her second consecutive 6A discus state championship with an effort
- 10 of 184 feet, 0 inches; in addition to going undefeated in the discus
- 11 during her senior year, she also excelled in the shot put,
- 12 qualifying for state and finishing in sixth place with throw of 42
- 13 feet, 5 inches; and
- WHEREAS, Ms. Sralla is a dual citizen of the United States
- 15 and Sweden and competes for Sweden in international track and field
- 16 events; in 2022, she won the women's discus event at the World
- 17 Athletics U20 Championships, and she is looking forward to taking
- 18 part in additional meets during the summer of 2023; and
- 19 WHEREAS, By excelling in the state's premier showcase for
- 20 high school track and field athletes, Emma Sralla has ably
- 21 represented her school and community, and she will cherish her
- 22 memories of this outstanding accomplishment for years to come; now,
- 23 therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas

H.R. No. 2139

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate Emma Sralla on her gold-medal
- 2 finish in the 6A discus at the 2023 UIL Track & Field State Meet and
- 3 extend to her sincere best wishes for continued success; and, be it
- 4 further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for Ms. Sralla as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Thimesch

H.R. No. 2139

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2139 was adopted by the House on May 29, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House