H.R. No. 2253

## RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, Shirley Harris, the first Black graduate of Texas
 State University in San Marcos, paved the way for other students of
 color to pursue higher education; and

WHEREAS, A native of Smithville, Shirley Harris graduated 4 5 from Edwards High School in Gonzales as salutatorian; after attending San Antonio College for two years, she transferred to 6 what was then known as Southwest Texas State College in 1965; two 7 years prior, a federal judge had officially ordered the school's 8 desegregation, and there were only a handful of Black students 9 enrolled when Ms. Harris arrived; she earned a bachelor's degree in 10 education on May 26, 1967, becoming the first Black person to 11 12 graduate from the school; and

13 WHEREAS, Following her graduation, Ms. Harris embarked on a 14 career as an elementary school teacher in the South San Antonio Independent School District; after a year, she moved to Briscoe 15 Elementary School in San Antonio ISD, where she taught for more than 16 four decades before retiring in 2011; over the course of her 42-year 17 tenure, she made a positive difference in the lives of thousands of 18 young Texans; she passed away on March 31, 2018, at the age of 73; 19 20 and

21 WHEREAS, At a time when the aspirations of Black women were 22 impeded by racism, Shirley Harris fulfilled her ambition to obtain 23 a degree and to become a teacher, and her courage and fierce 24 determination are a source of lasting inspiration to countless men

1

H.R. No. 2253 1 and women across the Lone Star State and beyond; now, therefore, be 2 it

3 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
4 Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life and legacy of Shirley
5 Harris; and, be it further

6 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 7 prepared for her family and that when the Texas House of 8 Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of 9 Ms. Harris.

Zwiener

2

H.R. No. 2253

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2253 was adopted by the House on May 26, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House