RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, The Woodlands College Park High School JROTC has
- 2 earned great distinction by winning the National High School Drill
- 3 Team Championship held in Daytona Beach, Florida, on May 6 and 7,
- 4 2023; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Established in 1982, the National High School Drill
- 6 Team Championship is a drill and ceremony competition for JROTC
- 7 cadets; teams from all services compete in regulation, exhibition,
- 8 color guard, and inspection disciplines in both armed and unarmed
- 9 divisions, with active duty drill sergeants serving as judges; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Competing under the name Texas Green Horns, The
- 11 Woodlands College Park High team made their competition debut at
- 12 the national championship event; the squad faced off against 1,500
- 13 other cadets, earning top honors in the Division I armed overall
- 14 championship; and
- WHEREAS, Each of the 25 cadets has made valuable
- 16 contributions to the team, and the group has benefited from the able
- 17 guidance of its two instructors, Christopher Combs and Nicole
- 18 Mauery, as well as additional volunteer coaches; and
- WHEREAS, Winning a national championship is an outstanding
- 20 achievement that results from hard work and an unwavering
- 21 commitment to excellence, and the talented young men and women of
- 22 The Woodlands College Park High School JROTC are a source of great
- 23 pride for their school and community; now, therefore, be it
- 24 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas

H.R. No. 2282

- 1 Legislature hereby congratulate The Woodlands College Park High
- 2 School JROTC on winning the National High School Drill Team
- 3 Championship and extend to all those associated with the group
- 4 sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further
- 5 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 6 prepared for the team as an expression of high regard by the Texas
- 7 House of Representatives.

Toth

H.R. No. 2282

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2282 was adopted by the House on May 29, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House