H.R. No. 2293

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The State of Texas has greatly benefited from the 2 dedicated efforts of the staff of the Legislative Budget Board 3 during the 88th Legislative Session; and

WHEREAS, A permanent joint committee of the Texas Legislature, LBB develops budget and policy recommendations for legislative appropriations, prepares fiscal analyses for proposed legislation, and evaluates the efficiency and performance of state and local operations; and

Members of LBB 9 WHEREAS, carry out а wide range of responsibilities assigned by statute, including the adoption of a 10 11 constitutional spending limit and preparation of a General 12 Appropriations Bill draft and budget estimates document; in addition, they conduct comprehensive reviews of the educational, 13 14 financial, and operational services and programs of Texas school districts, prepare fiscal notes and impact statements on proposed 15 16 legislation, maintain the state contract database for online access by the public, and guide, review, and finalize agency strategic 17 plans; and 18

WHEREAS, Over the course of the session, LBB supports the legislative appropriations process by providing staff resources for the House Appropriations Committee, the Senate Finance Committee, and the Conference Committee on Appropriations; the board also publishes fiscal information and maintains a website that provides budget information and documents; during the interim,

1

LBB offers assistance to standing and special committees and keeps
legislators informed about significant budget and performance
developments among state agencies; and

WHEREAS, The LBB staff is skillfully guided by executive director Jerry McGinty II, deputy director Nora Velasco-Herrera, general counsel Stewart Shallow, chief of staff Malika Te, and assistant directors Scott Dudley, Aaron Henricksen, Julie Lindsey, and Matthew Medford; and

9 WHEREAS, The administration and staff of the Legislative 10 Budget Board work tirelessly to ensure the effectiveness and 11 efficiency of Texas state government, and in so doing, they are 12 rendering a vital service to the people of the Lone Star State; now, 13 therefore, be it

14 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 15 Legislature hereby recognize the Legislative Budget Board and 16 commend its administration and staff for their exemplary work 17 during the 88th Legislative Session; and, be it further

18 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 19 prepared for the board as an expression of high regard by the Texas 20 House of Representatives.

Metcalf

H.R. No. 2293

2

H.R. No. 2293

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

H.R. No. 2293

_

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2293 was adopted by the House on May 29, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House