## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Over the course of this 140-day regular session, the 2 staff of the Texas Legislative Council has worked diligently to 3 meet the needs of the legislature; and

WHEREAS, The council is led by executive director Jeff Archer, who draws on more than 40 years of experience with the agency; he is relied on throughout the Capitol community for his respertise in a broad range of subject areas, and through the decades, he has worked thousands of late night and early morning hours to provide steadfast support to legislators, legislative staff, and council employees; and

11 WHEREAS, The agency's leadership team also includes assistant executive director Kimberly Shields and general counsel 12 Jon Heining, who help coordinate the operation of the five TLC 13 14 divisions--information systems, legal, research, document production, and administration--each of which specializes 15 in 16 specific areas of support; and

WHEREAS, Guided by division director Joe Diana, the council's 17 information systems division provides a range of computer-related 18 services to the legislative branch of state government; in addition 19 20 to equipping member offices with PCs, iPads, printers, and 21 software, the division maintains the network infrastructure for the Capitol community, develops applications, and offers comprehensive 22 23 training and assistance in technical matters, lending its expertise 24 through a variety of channels; and

1

1 WHEREAS, Under the leadership of division director Mike Marshall, the attorneys, legal assistants, editors, and support 2 3 staff of the legal division help to craft proposed bills and constitutional amendments, substitutes, amendments, conference 4 committee reports, and miscellaneous drafts and provide legal 5 advice and analysis on request; the division's legal editing team 6 also performs a dual role by carrying out the engrossing and 7 8 enrolling duties for the House; and

9 WHEREAS, The research division, led by division director 10 Karen White, is composed of the redistricting & data, policy research & bill analysis, research editing & special projects, and 11 12 resolutions & publications sections; during the session, division staff produce numerous bill analyses for House committees, 13 14 resolutions and certificates, and side-by-side analyses; moreover, 15 they support the redistricting process, provide mapping and statistical services, and maintain Capweb, Texas Redistricting, 16 17 and other useful websites; and

WHEREAS, Contributing to the council's efforts to serve the legislature are the members of the TLC document production staff; division director Janet Sullivan manages sections that handle data transcription, proofreading, printing, and document processing & delivery; over the course of the session, the division produces and distributes thousands of drafts, House official printings, and other documents; and

25 WHEREAS, The council's diverse responsibilities are 26 supported by the staff of the administration division, who keep the 27 other divisions running smoothly through their efforts in the areas

2

H.R. No. 2294 1 of human resources, accounting and purchasing, and assurance 2 services; and

3 WHEREAS, Council staff bring to their duties precision, 4 creativity, knowledge, and technical expertise, serving the 5 legislature and the citizens of this state with stamina and 6 resilience as they meet the myriad challenges of a legislative 7 session; now, therefore, be it

8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas 9 Legislature hereby recognize the staff of the Texas Legislative 10 Council for their work in behalf of the legislative branch of 11 government and the Lone Star State; and, be it further

12 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 13 prepared for the council staff as an expression of high regard by 14 the Texas House of Representatives.

Metcalf

3

Phelan Allen Allison Anchía Anderson Ashby Bailes Bell of Kaufman Bell of Montgomery Bernal Bhojani Bonnen Bowers Bryant Buckley Bucy Bumgarner Burns Burrows Button Cain Campos Canales Capriglione Clardy Cole Collier Cook Cortez Craddick Cunningham Darby Davis Dean DeAyala Dorazio Dutton Flores Frank Frazier Gamez Garcia Gates Gerdes Geren Gervin-Hawkins Goldman González of Dallas González of El Paso Goodwin

Guerra Guillen Harless Harris of Anderson Harris of Williamson Harrison Hayes Hefner Hernandez Herrero Hinojosa Holland Howard Hull Hunter Isaac Jetton Johnson of Dallas A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Jones of Dallas Jones of Harris Kacal King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Kitzman Klick Kuempel Lalani Lambert Landgraf Leach Leo-Wilson Longoria Lopez of Bexar Lopez of Cameron Lozano Lujan Manuel Martinez Martinez Fischer Metcalf Meyer Meza Moody Morales of Harris Morales of Maverick Morales Shaw Morrison Muñoz, Jr.

Murr Neave Criado Noble Oliverson Ordaz Orr Ortega Patterson Paul Perez Plesa Price Ramos Raney Raymond Reynolds Rogers Romero, Jr. Rose Rosenthal Schaefer Schatzline Schofield Shaheen Sherman, Sr. Shine Slawson Smith Smithee Spiller Stucky Swanson Talarico Tepper Thierry Thimesch Thompson of Brazoria Thompson of Harris Tinderholt Toth Troxclair Turner VanDeaver Vasut Vo Walle Wilson Wu Zwiener

Speaker of the House

I certify that H.R. No. 2294 was adopted by the House on May 29, 2023, by a non-record vote.

Chief Clerk of the House