By: Metcalf H.R. No. 2295

## RESOLUTION

- 1 WHEREAS, Texans and visitors from across the nation benefit
- 2 greatly from the dedicated efforts of the employees of the State
- 3 Preservation Board; and
- 4 WHEREAS, This vital state agency is responsible for the
- 5 preservation and maintenance of the historic buildings in the
- 6 Capitol Complex, and it approves all construction, repair, and
- 7 renovation work; it also operates the Bullock Texas State History
- 8 Museum, the Texas State Cemetery, the Capitol Visitors Center and
- 9 gift shops, and the Capitol Visitors Parking Garage; moreover, the
- 10 agency provides educational and curatorial services, offers guided
- 11 tours to the public, schedules and manages public events, and
- 12 maintains the Texas Governor's Mansion and its grounds; and
- WHEREAS, Executive Director Rod Welsh oversees the State
- 14 Preservation Board with the able assistance of the executive staff,
- 15 Bob Cash, Erin Christensen, Chris Currens, Deborah Hujar, Ali
- 16 James, Leslie Pawelka, Cindy Provine, Eric Ramos, and Ann Vay, as
- 17 well as the skilled members of the finance department, Lindsey
- 18 Alvarado, Barbara Hanus, Laura Kelly, Lisa Stockton, Deanna Wall,
- 19 and Vashyra Waller; the agency's work further benefits from the
- 20 support of its administrative personnel, Robert Davis, Dana
- 21 Dennett, Jane Falkenberg, Patricia Hernandez-Ruiz, Elithia Rangel,
- 22 Rachel Santos, and Valerie Simpson, as well as IT staff members
- 23 Andre Bygrave and Michael Dillon; and
- 24 WHEREAS, The curatorial staff consists of Jax

- 1 Delacruz-Luera, Lauren Graham, and Paige Hester; educational tours
- 2 of the Capitol are offered by Patricia Andrews, Richard Bronson,
- 3 Tweed Chouinard, Leslie Covington, John Fulbright, Susan
- 4 Highfield, Nancy Korzilius, Monica Oatman, Marsha Rainey, Joseph
- 5 Randel, Patrick Reed, Angela Roberson, Karen Rohe, David Schuler,
- 6 Maverick Staub, Comfort Tysen, Derrick Wright, and Georgia Zunker;
- 7 and
- 8 WHEREAS, Members of the public are welcomed to the Capitol
- 9 Visitors Center by staffers Jenna Archuletta, Eric Boedy, Chelsea
- 10 Caldwell, Elizabeth Garzone, Lezlie Hernandez, Janet Holder,
- 11 Laurence Jackson III, Elizabeth Reid, and Kandace Russell; the
- 12 retail operation is overseen by Sheryl Baker, Misha Buckman,
- 13 Michael Byers, Benjamin Smith, and Diane Talley, and team members
- 14 include Sepideh Hariri, Nancy Hennessy, and Daniel Linkowski at the
- 15 Capitol Visitors Center gift shop, Soo Jung Aguilar, Thomas Farley
- 16 Jr., Jose Garcia-Bedolla, Lisa Gentry, Dale Hernandez, and
- 17 Dominique Medrano at the Capitol Extension gift shop, and Elizabeth
- 18 Deutchman, Richard Eisenhour, Joshua Garcia, Cecelia Hartley,
- 19 Nathan Kuhles, and Karen Morris at the retail warehouse; and
- 20 WHEREAS, The outstanding employees who are responsible for
- 21 the care and maintenance of the landmark buildings and monuments
- 22 are Steven Aguirre, Kevin Koch, Araceli Ripper, and David Salazar
- 23 of facilities administration, Bradley Ashford, David Flanegan,
- 24 Victor Flores, Ricky Gleason II, Fabian Gonzalez, Joshua Hastings,
- 25 Waleed Ibrahim, Jeffrey Keith, Bill Kleinebecker, Subhash
- 26 Kodinariya, Thomas Levitt, Chris Nunn, Joseph Person, David Pham,
- 27 Oscar Rivera, Daniel Scott, Eric Tamayo, Alejandro Villalobos,

## H.R. No. 2295

1 Danny Vu, and Garrett Weaver of the maintenance crew, James Battjes, Adilene Castaneda Juanes, Laura Cuellar, Claudia Escobar 2 3 Bonilla, Crisostoma Espino Recendiz, Moon Sung Kim, Joe Medina, Aida Robles, Maria Rodriguez, Maria Rosas De Alvarado, Sara Salazar 4 Rivero, Estherdina Tinoco Montenegro, Flora Torres, and Alida 5 Villatoro Giron of the housekeeping team, and Antonio Delgado and 6 Anthony Garcia of the groundskeeping staff; overseeing the 7 operation of the Capitol Visitors Parking Garage are Antony 8 Hubbard, Irene Arispe, Gladys Howard, Amanda Remillard, and John 9 10 Wessels; and WHEREAS, In addition to the commendable work of its Capitol 11

12 Complex employees, the State Preservation Board further serves the public through its staff at the Bullock Texas State History Museum; 13 14 led by director Margaret Koch, the museum's administrative team 15 consists of Kyle Albrecht, Josefa Gonzalez Mariscal, Emily Henne, Derek Lemons, and Natalie Rose Gerg, and those employees handling 16 17 communications, creative services, external affairs, marketing, and membership are Victor Ramirez, Amanda Strittmatter, Cadelyn 18 19 Bates, Daniel Rodriguez, Cassidy Reynolds, Sandra Tsang, Hunt 20 Wellborn III, and Gilberto Medina, with William Epperson, Ryanne Howard, Rachel Miller, and Marieunise Sanchez-Fontanez 21 coordinating facilities rentals; the museum's education department 22 consists of Melissa Tamporello, Shelby Barrera, Rebecca Beck, 23 24 Christine Carranza, Camerin Dunn, Rose Kemp, Kaitlin Lloyd-Leva, Jessica Moriates, Lindsay Muncy, and Kyle Shook, and its exhibits 25 26 staff is made up of Vitaly Beskrowni, Peter Martinez, Josephine Mayes, Lisa Sharik, Tony Beldock, Angela Glasker, Elissa Graham, 27

- 1 Michael Juen, Hannah Kemp, James McReynolds, John Peel, Stefan
- 2 Ruff, Patrick Sanderson, and Kathryn Siefker; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Visitor services representatives and coordinators
- 4 for the Bullock Museum include Scotland Washington, Joseph Almand,
- 5 Celia Browning, Nicholas Byers, Marisol Cacho, Morgan Catching,
- 6 Colleen Cawthon, Elizabeth Covert, Kennedy Daughetee, Abigail
- 7 Delagerheim, Mackenzie Elder, Hannah Gonzalez, Donald King, Kellyn
- 8 Lappinga, Maren Lehman, Eleria Patterson, Hilary Pearson, Rosa
- 9 Pedraza, Madeline Perry, Jay Podolnick, Samantha Pritchard, Gloria
- 10 Ramirez, Rachel Simone, and Michael Strittmatter, and the
- 11 facility's famed IMAX theater is operated by Conor Bell, Harry
- 12 Flowers, Steven Christopher Hays, and James Jennings; members of
- 13 the museum's retail team include Heidi Afkami, Kathryn Bohuslav,
- 14 Melisa Geaslin, Tayebeh Masomian, and Vanessa McElroy, and its
- 15 housekeeping and maintenance crew consists of Oralia Bautista De
- 16 Martinez, David Beatty, and Peter Castilleja; and
- 17 WHEREAS, In addition to the Capitol Complex and the Bullock
- 18 State History Museum, the SPB oversees the operation of the Texas
- 19 State Cemetery, which benefits from the support of staffers William
- 20 Erwin, Ulises Garcia, Rene Hernandez, Nathan Stephens, and Isiah
- 21 Tarbutton; and
- 22 WHEREAS, Through their dedicated stewardship of a rich
- 23 legacy, the administrators and employees of the State Preservation
- 24 Board are rendering a vital service to the people of Texas and
- 25 introducing countless visitors to the remarkable story of the Lone
- 26 Star State; now, therefore, be it
- 27 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas

H.R. No. 2295

- 1 Legislature hereby commend the staff of the State Preservation
- 2 Board for their exemplary service; and, be it further
- 3 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 4 prepared for the State Preservation Board as an expression of high
- 5 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.