H.R. No. 2296

RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is pleased to

2 recognize the officers and staff of Region VII of the Texas

Department of Public Safety for their commitment to protecting and

4 serving the legislators and state employees of the Capitol Complex

5 in Austin; and

3

13

6 WHEREAS, Since September 1991, the men and women of Region

7 VII have been responsible for the security of the 46 square-block

8 area around the State Capitol that encompasses many state

9 government facilities; supervised by the regional commander, the

10 region's staff includes commissioned and noncommissioned personnel

11 who are divided into details that cover the complex; and

12 WHEREAS, Their responsibilities include providing police and

security patrol of the Capitol grounds, traffic supervision and

14 enforcement, parking administration, protection for visiting

15 dignitaries, monitoring surveillance cameras, and staffing the

16 x-ray machines and metal detectors at the Capitol's entrances; in

17 addition, the region's skilled and dedicated personnel also

18 investigate crimes, conduct vulnerability assessments to mitigate

19 risk, and deal with crowd control during rallies and demonstrations

20 on the Capitol grounds; and

21 WHEREAS, Those deserving of special recognition for their

22 hard work and professionalism include Regional Director Scotty

23 Shiver, Major Chris Jones, Major Gabe Ortiz, Captain Tim Caradine,

24 Captain Tony Rodriguez, Captain Ralph Ohland, Lieutenant Craig

H.R. No. 2296

- 1 Henry, Lieutenant Billy Shelton, and Security Operations Manager
- 2 Kari Raesz; and
- 3 WHEREAS, For more than three decades, the officers of Region
- 4 VII of the DPS have worked tirelessly to maintain law, order, and
- 5 civility in the Capitol Complex, allowing the state's legislators
- 6 and employees to safely and securely conduct the people's business;
- 7 now, therefore, be it
- 8 RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 88th Texas
- 9 Legislature hereby commend Region VII of the Texas Department of
- 10 Public Safety for its outstanding record of protecting the Capitol
- 11 Complex in Austin and extend to the region's officers and civilian
- 12 staff sincere best wishes for continued success in their important
- 13 work; and, be it further
- 14 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
- 15 prepared for Region VII as an expression of gratitude and high
- 16 regard by the Texas House of Representatives.

Metcalf

H.R. No. 2296

Phelan Guerra Murr Guillen Neave Criado Allen Allison Harless Noble Harris of Anderson Anchía Oliverson Harris of Williamson Anderson Ordaz Ashby Harrison Orr Bailes Hayes Ortega Bell of Kaufman Hefner Patterson Bell of Montgomery Hernandez Paul Bernal Herrero Perez Bhojani Hinojosa Plesa Holland Bonnen Price Bowers Howard Ramos Hull Bryant Raney Buckley Hunter Raymond Isaac Reynolds Bucy Jetton Bumgarner Rogers Johnson of Dallas Burns Romero, Jr. A. Johnson of Harris J. Johnson of Harris Burrows Rose Button Rosenthal Jones of Dallas Schaefer Cain Jones of Harris Schatzline Campos Canales Kacal Schofield King of Hemphill King of Uvalde Capriglione Shaheen Clardy Sherman, Sr. Kitzman Cole Shine Collier Klick Slawson Kuempel Cook Smith Cortez Lalani Smithee Craddick Lambert Spiller Cunningham Landgraf Stucky Leach Swanson Darby Leo-Wilson Talarico Davis Tepper Dean Longoria DeAyala Lopez of Bexar Thierry Lopez of Cameron Thimesch Dorazio Dutton Lozano Thompson of Brazoria Flores Lujan Thompson of Harris Frank Manuel Tinderholt Frazier Martinez Toth Gamez Martinez Fischer Troxclair Garcia Metcalf Turner VanDeaver Gates Meyer Gerdes Meza Vasut Geren Moody Vo Gervin-Hawkins Morales of Harris Walle Goldman Morales of Maverick Wilson González of Dallas Morales Shaw Wıı González of El Paso Morrison Zwiener

Muñoz, Jr.

Goodwin

	Speaker of the House
I certify that H.R. No. 2296 was	adopted by the House on May 29,
by a non-record vote.	

Chief Clerk of the House

H.R. No. 2296

2023, by a non-record vote.