By: Hinojosa S.C.R. No. 32

1 SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, The Legislature of the State of Texas is pleased to

3 join staff and board members of Lone Star National Bank in

4 celebrating its 40th anniversary in 2023; and

5 WHEREAS, Lone Star National Bank opened its first location in

6 January 1983 in Pharr with 10 employees providing retail banking

7 and commercial banking for small businesses, and it subsequently

8 opened more locations in the Rio Grande Valley, starting in 1984

9 with a banking center in McAllen; and

10 WHEREAS, In August 2000, Lone Star National Bank opened its

11 first branch outside of Hidalgo County, in Rio Grande City; the

12 regional success of the bank led to the opening of an office in San

13 Antonio in 2010, with the addition of one center in 2011 and two

14 more in 2013; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Department of Banking ranked Lone Star

16 National Bank number 48 in the Lone Star State in September 2022

17 because of its success in generating regional wealth and providing

18 financial security to its customers with its multibillion-dollar

19 assets, loans, and deposits; and

20 WHEREAS, The Lone Star National Bank Board of Directors and

21 Advisory Board of Directors devote their wisdom and expertise to

22 guide this major financial institution, which for decades has been

23 a prosperous and respected center in the South Texas financial

24 services industry, committed to building customer relationships

- 1 and to helping clients succeed financially; and
- 2 WHEREAS, The Lone Star National Bank Board of Directors is
- 3 led by Chairman Alonzo Cantú, Vice Chairman Óscar R. González, and
- 4 President S. David Deanda Jr.; the board's members are Cruz Cantú
- 5 III, Narciso Escareño, Luis Flores III, Jaime A. González, Ambrosio
- 6 Hernández, Abdala Kalifa, David M. Penoli, Rubén M. Torres, Manny
- 7 Vela, Angie Vera-Olivia, Asim Zamir, and Joe D. Zayas; members of
- 8 the Lone Star National Bank Advisory Board of Directors are Mónica
- 9 Benavides, Rose Benavídez, Billy R. Bradford Jr., Rusty Brechot,
- 10 Linda Burke, Roger Campos, Eddie Cantú, Manuel Cantú, Deborah
- 11 Cordova, Tony Davila, George Fillis, Celia Galindo, Edmundo O.
- 12 García, Miguel García, Ed Garza, Raúl C. Garza, Lawrence Gelman,
- 13 Verónica Gonzales, Melissa González, Rosa E. González, Victor
- 14 Guerra, Victor Haddad, Mark A. Johnson, Joe López, Sofia Lubin,
- 15 Carlos Manrique, Nestor C. Martínez, Jorge Medina, David Oliveira,
- 16 Arturo S. Pérez, René Ramírez, Sofia A. Ramón, Annabelle Palomo,
- 17 Mario Rodríguez, Bobby Sáenz, Larry E. Safir, Jonathan Starr, José
- 18 A. Vázquez, Judge Eloy Vera, Richard Walsh, and Laura Warren; now,
- 19 therefore, be it
- 20 RESOLVED, That the 88th Legislature of the State of Texas
- 21 hereby commemorate the 40th anniversary of Lone Star National Bank
- 22 and extend to all associated with the company sincere best wishes
- 23 for continued success; and, be it further
- 24 RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be prepared for the
- 25 corporation as an expression of high regard from the Texas
- 26 Legislature.