1

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

2 WHEREAS, Fifty students from several member institutions of the Texas A&M University System are providing valuable support to 3 4 the 88th Texas Legislature while gaining experience in public service as members of the Agricultural and Natural Resources Policy 5 6 Internship Program, the Public Policy Internship Program, the Bush School of Government & Public Service Capstone Scholars Program, 7 8 the School of Law Residency Externship Program in Public Policy, and the Tarleton State University internship program; and 9

10 WHEREAS, For over three decades, the Agricultural and Natural Resources Policy Internship Program has sent students from the 11 12 Texas A&M University College of Agriculture & Life Sciences to Austin, Washington, D.C., and abroad to work on a wide array of 13 issues; their strong background and interest in agriculture and 14 15 natural resources allow them to offer specialized knowledge to offices; over 1,000 students have participated in this program to 16 17 date; the current ANRP interns are Victoria Benavides, Cameron Castillo, Sarah Denison, Bailey Halbert, William Howe, and Cason 18 Moorman; and 19

WHEREAS, The Texas A&M University Public Policy Internship Program, established in 1999, invites students across all Texas A&M University degree programs to create an interdisciplinary environment for comprehensive academic training, research, and policy programming; interns in the nation's capital, in Austin, and

1

abroad serve in a variety of settings that align with their 1 2 professional goals; some 1,000 students have participated in this program to date; the current PPIP interns are Blake Albright, 3 Crystal Amoles, Peter Barnett, Graeson Chadwell, Lillian Dacke, 4 Sumanpreet Dosanjh, Erica Emig, Clark Garcia, Ariana Garlic, 5 Shannon Gray, Marla Guerra, Lillian Hale, Jason Haug, Chrissa 6 7 Aseer Karowadia, Magdalyn Klynsma, Jacobson, Christopher Livaudais, Michelle Mares, Tasha Martin, Brayden Moore, 8 Julia 9 Patterson, Abigail Powell, Jacob Pratt, Carson Prejean, Varun Singh, Cassidy Smith, and Grant Socol; and 10

11 WHEREAS, Since the 82nd Session, the Bush School of Government and Public Service at Texas A&M University has sent a 12 13 select group of graduate students, known as Capstone Scholars, to work in the legislature; these students, most of whom intend to work 14 15 in government positions when they graduate, bring knowledge, 16 skills, and motivation to their respective offices; their legislative experiences add 17 greatly to their professional development and benefit the state of Texas in myriad ways; the 18 current Bush School Capstone interns are Tal Carson, Sydney De 19 Vault-Garvey, Israel Eisenbeiss, Willie Gonzales, Ryan Heare, 20 Taitelyn Morris, Aditya Prasetyo, Debbra Willis, and Abdulatif 21 22 Zaki; and

23 WHEREAS, The Texas A&M School of Law Residency Externship 24 Program in Public Policy, first offered in 2016, brings law 25 students to Washington, D.C., and Austin to serve in a variety of 26 legislative, executive, and advocacy settings that align with their 27 professional goals; students are selected for their academic

2

achievement, demonstrated interest 1 in public service, and 2 completion of studies specific to legislation, regulation, and substantive policy law; this preparation allows them to offer 3 4 advanced skills and knowledge to the policymakers and advocates with whom they work; current Texas A&M Law Students are Michael 5 Chavarria, Meagan Corser, and McKenna Martinez; and 6

7 WHEREAS, Since 2010, Tarleton State University has sent numerous interns to Austin and Washington, D.C., where they work on 8 9 an array of issues; their strong background and interest in public policy, history, education, criminal justice, health care, and 10 11 agriculture, among other topics, equip them to offer specialized knowledge to legislators; current Tarleton interns are Desirae 12 13 Garcia, Emilie Gaucin-Rodarte, Walker Kirk, Olivia Lasater, and 14 Kiara Owen; and

15 WHEREAS, Through the years, these programs have helped 16 exceptional students deepen their understanding of legislative processes and general government functionality while developing 17 important professional skills and critical peer networks, and past 18 program participants have gone on to make vital contributions and 19 20 assume leadership roles in a variety of arenas; the outstanding young people who are giving of their time and talents, with the 21 22 utmost integrity, throughout this legislative session can indeed take pride in their achievements and selfless service to the Lone 23 24 Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the 88th Legislature of the State of Texas hereby recognize the 2023 Texas A&M University System policy interns and commend the current participants for their diligence

3

1 and commitment to excellence; and, be it further

2 RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be 3 prepared for the students as an expression of high regard by the 4 Texas House of Representatives and Senate.

President of the Senate

Speaker of the House

I hereby certify that S.C.R. No. 43 was adopted by the Senate on April 12, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate

I hereby certify that S.C.R. No. 43 was adopted by the House on April 20, 2023.

Chief Clerk of the House

Approved:

Date

Governor