By: Hughes, Nichols

S.R. No. 108

SENATE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Margaret and Jim Perkins, longtime supporters of Stephen F. Austin State University, who recently received the Texas Higher Education Distinguished Service Award; and

WHEREAS, The Texas Higher Education Distinguished Service Award recognizes exceptional contributions by individuals and organizations to Texas higher education; and

WHEREAS, Margaret and Jim Perkins have been patrons of Texas higher education programs, scholarships, and professional funds for decades; Jim, an attorney and president of Citizen's First Bank of East Texas, and Margaret, a former teacher, have given generously of their time and energy to Stephen F. Austin State University; and

WHEREAS, Governor Preston Smith appointed Jim to the Stephen F. Austin State University board of regents in 1969, where he led the development of the SFASU foundation and served as chair of the board of regents from 1969 to 1981; Margaret and Jim remained dedicated to fostering the development of educators in East Texas, and after decades of their support, Stephen F. Austin State University named the College of Education the James I. Perkins College of Education; and

WHEREAS, Margaret and Jim are the benefactors of such programs at Stephen F. Austin State University as the Perkins

Professional Development Travel Fund; the Hoover-Perkins Professorship; and the JacksTeach Program, which helps students to obtain teaching certification in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics fields; they fund many other awards and scholarships; and

WHEREAS, Generous and steadfast supporters of the Stephen F. Austin State University community, Margaret and Jim Perkins have changed the lives of thousands of students and educators; their philanthropy and dedication to the cause of education are inspiring, and they are truly deserving of the Texas Higher Education Distinguished Service Award; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby recognize Margaret and Jim Perkins on their contributions to Texas education and congratulate them on receiving the Texas Higher Education Distinguished Service Award; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for them as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.