SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 129

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Texas School District Police Chiefs' Association, which has provided invaluable support and guidance to school district police departments over the course of more than two-and-a-half decades; and

WHEREAS, The organization traces its origins back to 1996, when school district police chiefs in the Houston area began holding informal meetings to discuss issues related to their profession; the group established the Southeast Texas School District Police Chiefs Association in 1997, and the following year, the organization hosted its first annual training conference; in 2001, the organization's name was changed to the Texas School District Police Chiefs' Association to reflect its mission to promote the statewide standardization of school district policing; and

WHEREAS, Today, the association benefits from the able guidance of its executive board, which includes president Solomon Cook, first vice president Bill Avera, second vice president Kirby Warnke, third vice president Charles McDuffie, fourth vice president Paul Cordova, immediate past president David Kimberly, treasurer Jimmy Womack, and secretary Alan Bragg; and

WHEREAS, Through its visionary leadership, the Texas School District Police Chiefs' Association is helping to ensure the safety of students, faculty, and staff in school districts across the state, and it is a pleasure to recognize the organization for its outstanding record of service; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby commend the Texas School District Police Chiefs' Association on the organization's exemplary service on behalf of Texas school district police departments and extend to its members sincere best wishes for continued success in their important work; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the Texas School District Police Chiefs' Association as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Nichols

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 7, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate