By: Nichols

S.R. No. 240

SENATE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Laura Ryan on her outstanding service as a member of the Texas Transportation Commission and on her many contributions to the Texas Department of Transportation; and

WHEREAS, Laura Ryan was first appointed to the Texas Transportation Commission by Governor Greg Abbott in July of 2016 to fill a vacancy; she was reappointed to serve a six-year term in March of 2017, and throughout her tenure as a commissioner, she has served the Texas Department of Transportation with diligence and dedication; and

WHEREAS, A passionate champion for roadway safety, Laura Ryan has devoted herself in her role as commissioner to improving the safety and well-being of Texas motorists; in her years of service, Commissioner Ryan has been an advocate for improved safety on roadways through such public awareness campaigns as #EndTheStreakTX and through the department's pledge to meet the goal of zero traffic fatalities by 2050; and

WHEREAS, A highly accomplished business leader and corporate executive, Laura Ryan's distinguished career includes her service in leadership positions in a broad range of professional industries and her role as founder and president of strategy and leadership consulting firm GX2 Partners; she has previously served as the chair of the Texas Department of Motor

1

S.R. No. 240

Vehicles Board, where she represented the vehicle manufacturing and distribution industry and was an active voice in committee meetings; and

WHEREAS, In addition to her many professional endeavours and her years of public service, Laura Ryan is involved in giving back to her local community and sits on the Houston Board of Child Advocates; in the course of her service to the Texas Department of Transportation, she has served as a mentor to others and has fulfilled the duties of her role with an unwavering commitment to excellence, and it is truly fitting that she receive special recognition on her exemplary service to Texas and the people of the Lone State State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby commend Laura Ryan on her exceptional leadership and public service as a member of the Texas Transportation Commission; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for her as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

2023S0064-1 01/26/23

2