SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 251

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize Patrick N. Jackson, a 50-year member of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Incorporated, who is being honored by the Theta Alpha Chapter of Dallas; and

WHEREAS, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity was founded on November 17, 1911, on the campus of Howard University in Washington, D.C.; the first national fraternal organization to be founded at a historically black college or university, Omega Psi Phi now has more than 700 chapters around the world; and

WHEREAS, The fraternity has a history of shaping visionary, service-oriented men dedicated to advancing creating opportunities for African Americans, and education, carrying out its principles of manhood, scholarship, 1927, the uplift; in perseverance, and fraternity institutionalized the annual observance of National Negro Achievement Week, a tradition that is now celebrated as Black History Month; and

WHEREAS, Patrick was inducted into the Gamma Sigma Chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity in 1972 at Alabama State University; now a member of the Theta Alpha Chapter, he has remained a loyal member of the fraternity and has served as a role model to countless brothers; and

countless brothers; and WHEREAS, Patrick is truly deserving of recognition for his longtime membership in Omega Psi Phi Fraternity and for the role he has played in carrying out the fraternity's mission of empowering people and serving the community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby commend Patrick N. Jackson on his many achievements and extend to him congratulations on being honored by the Theta Alpha Chapter as a 50-year member of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity; and, be it further

Fraternity; and, be it further RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on February 28, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate