SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 290

WHEREAS, Students from Starr County earned great distinction with their performances at the 2021 Mariachi Vargas Extravaganza; and

WHEREAS, Held in San Antonio, Mariachi Vargas Extravaganza is an annual festival and competition named for Mariachi Vargas de Tecalitlán, whose members act as judges; each year, students in mariachi groups from across the country rehearse a seven-minute performance featuring two songs and participate in semifinal competitions; the finalists then vie for the opportunity to call themselves national champions; and

WHEREAS, During the 2021 contest, four of the six high school finalists were from Starr County schools, including the Mariachi Nuevo Santander junior varsity and varsity groups of Roma High School, Mariachi Cascabel of Rio Grande City High School, and Mariachi Grulla de Plata of Grulla High School; Mariachi Cascabel took home the first-place trophy while Mariachi Grulla de Plata placed second and Mariachi Nuevo Santander placed third; and

WHEREAS, These exceptional groups benefited from the able leadership of their directors, Marcos Zárate, lead director of Mariachi Cascabel, Alfonso Rodriguez, director of Mariachi Grulla de Plata, and Eloy Garza, director of Mariachi Nuevo Santander; and

WHEREAS, With their success at the 2021 Mariachi Vargas Extravaganza, these outstanding young Texans have brought great credit to their schools and communities, and they may take justifiable pride in their accomplishments; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby commend all Starr County students who participated at the 2021 Mariachi Vargas Extravaganza competition and extend to them sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Mariachi Cascabel, Mariachi Grulla de Plata, and Mariachi Nuevo Santander as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Zaffirini

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on March 7, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate