S.R. No. 339

By: West

SENATE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the DeSoto High School football team, which recently won the University Interscholastic League 6A Division II state championship; and

WHEREAS, The DeSoto Eagles were victorious in their first appearance at the state finals, defeating the Austin Vandegrift Vipers by a score of 42-17 on December 17, 2022, at the AT&T Stadium in Arlington; and

WHEREAS, These dedicated young athletes have demonstrated remarkable talent and perseverance throughout the school year, ending the season with a 14-2 record, and they have earned the right to take great pride in their outstanding performance; and

WHEREAS, The Eagles have developed exceptional teamwork and discipline under the superior leadership and expertise of Head Coach and DeSoto Independent School District Athletic Director Claude Mathis and Assistant Coaches Kyle Coats, Lamarcus Franklin, Barrett Matthews, Hunter McEachern, Donald Miller, Russell Williams, Isaac Sandoval, Aaron Babino, Brian Russell, Charles Williams, Colton Bowen, Dennis Walker, Kerry Sweeny, Leslie Beattie, Michael Lee, Sean Van de Merghel, and Warren Seay; the team succeeded with the assistance of its devoted training staff and student trainers and with the valuable support of DeSoto High School Principal Jasen Campbell and

1

S.R. No. 339

Superintendent Dr. Usamah Rodgers; and

WHEREAS, DeSoto High School and the residents of the City of DeSoto are proud of the Eagles for their outstanding accomplishments as well as for their hard work, their impressive skills, and their fine sportsmanship; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby commend the DeSoto Eagles on their successful season and congratulate them on winning the 2022 UIL 6A Division II state football championship; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the team as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

2