## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 443

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to join in celebrating April 19, 2023, as Texas State Technical College Day at the State Capitol; and

WHEREAS, Established in 1965, Texas State Technical College is a two-year technical training institution focused on advanced and emerging technologies; the college offers numerous associate degrees and certifications to prepare students for high-wage employment in a range of technical fields; and

WHEREAS, Texas State Technical College has 10 campuses across the state, with locations in Abilene, Breckenridge, Brownwood, Fort Bend County, Harlingen, Marshall, North Texas, Sweetwater, Waco, and Williamson County; in recent years, the college has seen an increase in enrollment, in the number of degrees and certificates awarded, and in job placements while concurrently using a funding model such that funds received by the school are determined by student earnings and associated state tax revenues; and

WHEREAS, Texas State Technical College provides Texans with the opportunity to master leading-edge technical skills and to develop expertise in their career fields, and it is indeed fitting to recognize the school for its contributions to the prosperity and economic well-being of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby commend the leaders, administrators, and faculty of Texas State Technical College on their outstanding

1

S.R. No. 443

commitment to excellence in higher education and extend to all best wishes for continued success and for a memorable and rewarding visit to the State Capitol; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That a copy of this Resolution be prepared in honor of this special occasion.

Birdwell

Flores Hancock Hinojosa Huffman Hughes King Kolkhorst LaMantia Miles

Perry Schwertner Springer West Whitmire

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 19, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate