SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 458

WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is pleased to recognize the Spring Fire Department on the occasion of its 70th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, The Spring Fire Department received its charter in May of 1953; since that time, it has grown from its original members to include 181 members who are dedicated to serving the 165,000 residents throughout the 62-square-mile district and who diligently protect property and businesses; and

WHEREAS, These dedicated firefighters serve the community with courage and commitment, and the district's nine fire stations provide emergency medical coverage and complete fire supression 24 hours a day and 365 days a year; and

supression 24 hours a day and 365 days a year; and WHEREAS, Over the course of 70 years, the firefighters of the Spring Fire Department have responded to numerous rescue and hazardous material calls and have battled thousands of fires as they worked to protect the lives and property of the people of Spring; beginning August 26, 2017, and continuing for several days, the department heroically responded to the effects of Hurricane Harvey, receiving 500 calls for water rescues and successfully completing rescues of approximately 2,000 people; and

WHEREAS, The men and women of the Spring Fire Department have served the citizens of Spring with bravery, skill, and professionalism, and it is truly fitting that they be recognized for their exemplary dedication; now, therefore, be it

for their exemplary dedication; now, therefore, be it **RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby commend the members of the Spring Fire Department on their service and commitment to public safety and extend to them sincere best wishes for a memorable anniversary celebration; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for the department as an expression of esteem from the Texas Senate.

Creighton, Bettencourt

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on April 25, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate