SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 532

WHEREAS, The members of the 12th class of the Senator Gregory Luna Legislative Scholars and Fellows Program have ably served their fellow Texans during the 88th Legislative Session; and

WHEREAS, This exemplary program is administered by the Senate Hispanic Research Council and is named in honor of the late Senator Gregory Luna, who devoted his life to public service and to fighting for educational equity; and

WHEREAS, Serving as a tribute to Senator Luna's legacy and his admirable work in the Texas Legislature, the program was created to provide undergraduate and graduate students from across the state with opportunities to gain professional experience in the Texas Senate; the program is designed to help students acquire the skills necessary to become successful leaders in our great state; and

WHEREAS, The members of the 12th class of the Senator Gregory Luna Legislative Scholars and Fellows Program have demonstrated outstanding dedication and hard work in their assigned Senate offices throughout the session; the students of the 12th class are Victoria Eugenia De Anda De Alva of Ciudad Juárez, Mexico, serving in the office of State Senator José Menéndez; Erin Gonzales of Houston, serving in the office of State Senator César J. Blanco; Emily Grantham of Kingwood, serving in the office of State Senator Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa; Gabriel Martinez of Cedar Park, serving in the office of State Senator Sarah Eckhardt; Juan Negrete of Eagle Pass, serving in the office of State Senator John Whitmire; Sarai M. Ruiz of Laredo, serving in the office of State Senator Judith Zaffirini;

and Jose S. Silva Jr. of McAllen, serving in the office of State Senator Carol Alvarado; and

WHEREAS, These noteworthy Texans have performed their duties with skill and steadfast commitment, and they are indeed deserving of special recognition; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby commend the members of the 12th class of the Senator Gregory Luna Legislative Scholars and Fellows Program on their remarkable service and excellent work over the course of the legislative session and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success as they prepare to become the future leaders of the Lone Star State; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the program participants as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Menéndez

Alvarado Bettencourt Birdwell Blanco Campbell Creighton Eckhardt Flores Gutierrez	Hancock Hinojosa Huffman Hughes Johnson King Kolkhorst LaMantia Middleton	Nichols Parker Paxton Perry Schwertner Sparks Springer West Whitmire
Hall	Miles	Zaffirini

Patrick, President of the Senate

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 9, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate