SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 537

In Memory of Maria Gutierrez

WHEREAS, A life made rich through meaningful service drew to a close with the passing of Maria T. Gutierrez of Willacy County on April 15, 2019, at the age of 72; and

WHEREAS, The daughter of Eutimio and Teresa Gutierrez, Mary Gutierrez was born in Sarita on October 2, 1946, and she grew up with the companionship of nine siblings; throughout her life, she worked to help and support others, and she was a devoted and loyal friend to many; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Gutierrez became city commissioner of Raymondville in 1999, and she held that office for 16 years before concluding her tenure in 2015; dedicated to her community, she was a member of the Raymondville Chamber of Commerce board of directors, and she was active in numerous civic organizations, including Raymondville Amigos Del Valle, Willacy County Little League, Court Appointed Special Advocates, Su Clinica Familiar, and the Willacy County Child Welfare Board; in addition, she was a former member of the Lower Rio Grande Valley Development Council; and

WHEREAS, On January 1, 2001, Ms. Gutierrez joined the Willacy County Emergency Service District Board, and she was elected president of the board in 2015; she ably led the organization until her passing, and she is being posthumously honored with the dedication of its building in her memory; and

1

S.R. No. 537

WHEREAS, Through her leadership, generosity, and commitment to service, Mary Gutierrez made a positive difference in the lives of countless Willacy County residents, and her contributions will continue to resonate for years to come; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby pay tribute to the life and legacy of Maria T. Gutierrez; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for her family and that when the Texas Senate adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Mary Gutierrez.

LaMantia

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 10, 2023, by a rising vote.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate