## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 564

WHEREAS, Students from Sam Houston State University have rendered outstanding service to the Texas Legislature during the 88th Session as participants in the Sam Houston Austin Internship Program; and

WHEREAS, Established in 2012, SHAIP offers students an opportunity to learn about the legislative process and to gain valuable experience while putting their skills and knowledge to work; each participant is placed in a legislative office, where they work full-time over the course of the legislative session and handle a range of important responsibilities; students selected for this prestigious program earn academic credit while building their resumes and professional networks; and

WHEREAS, This year's class of interns includes Morgan Robertson and Jessica Cuevas in the office of State Senator Charles Schwertner, Yvette Mendoza in the office of State Representative Will Metcalf, Ingrid Cuero in the office of State Senator Bryan Hughes, Ashlyn Parker in the office of State Representative J. M. Lozano, Jayelynn Bordeaux in the office of State Representative Armando "Mando" Martinez, Morgan Dawson in the office of State Representative Senfronia Thompson, Amor Sheffield in the office of State Representative Rafael Anchía, and Breanna DeMyers, who is working with the Texas Association of Counties; and

WHEREAS, The members of this notable group have performed their duties as legislative interns with great skill and dedication, and they are indeed deserving of special recognition for their fine work; now, therefore, be it

1

**RESOLVED**, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby honor the participants in the 2023 Sam Houston Austin Internship Program and extend to them sincere best wishes for continued success in all their endeavors; and, be it further

**RESOLVED,** That official copies of this Resolution be prepared for the students as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Schwertner, Hughes

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 16, 2023.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate