By: Schwertner, Hughes

S.R. No. 564

## RESOLUTION

1 WHEREAS, Students from Sam Houston State University have 2 rendered outstanding service to the Texas Legislature during the 3 88th Session as participants in the Sam Houston Austin Internship 4 Program; and

WHEREAS, Established in 2012, SHAIP offers students an 5 opportunity to learn about the legislative process and to gain 6 7 valuable experience while putting their skills and knowledge to work; each participant is placed in a legislative office, where 8 they work full-time over the course of the legislative session and 9 handle a range of important responsibilities; students selected for 10 11 this prestigious program earn academic credit while building their 12 resumes and professional networks; and

13 WHEREAS, This year's class of interns includes Morgan 14 Robertson and Jessica Cuevas in the office of State Senator Charles Schwertner, Yvette Mendoza in the office of State Representative 15 Will Metcalf, Ingrid Cuero in the office of State Senator Bryan 16 Hughes, Ashlyn Parker in the office of State Representative J. M. 17 Lozano, Jayelynn Bordeaux in the office of State Representative 18 Armando "Mando" Martinez, Morgan Dawson in the office of State 19 Representative Senfronia Thompson, Amor Sheffield in the office of 20 21 State Representative Rafael Anchía, and Breanna DeMyers, who is working with the Texas Association of Counties; and 22

23 WHEREAS, The members of this notable group have performed 24 their duties as legislative interns with great skill and

1

1 dedication, and they are indeed deserving of special recognition 2 for their fine work; now, therefore, be it

S.R. No. 564

3 RESOLVED, That the Senate of the 88th Texas Legislature 4 hereby honor the participants in the 2023 Sam Houston Austin 5 Internship Program and extend to them sincere best wishes for 6 continued success in all their endeavors; and, be it further

7 RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared 8 for the students as an expression of high regard by the Texas 9 Senate.

2