By: Schwertner S.R. No. 721

SENATE RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, For more than a century, the Legislative Reference Library has provided invaluable assistance to Texas lawmakers; and

WHEREAS, Housing a specialized collection of materials including original legislative bill files dating back to the 63rd Session, historical and current publications of legislative committees, of state agencies, and of institutions of higher education, legal resources, and periodicals, the library is well positioned to support the varied and extensive work of legislators; and

WHEREAS, The library's electronic data systems expedite the delivery of knowledge to the legislative community; the Texas Appointment System contains information on members of state councils, boards, and committees appointed by the governor, lieutenant governor, and speaker; the Legislative Archive System holds the only electronic version of original legislative bill files and documentation, while the Index to Sections Affected details the proposed statutory effect of bills; moreover, the library maintains Texas Legislators: Past & Present, a database highlighting legislative membership information from 1846 to today, as well as a legislative reports database covering that same period, and it archives gubernatorial executive orders, messages, and proclamations; and

WHEREAS, During legislative sessions, the library plays an integral part in the legislative process; staff members develop electronic records in the Texas Legislative Tracking System for each bill or resolution filed, assign and enter subject terms and companion relationships, and review enrolled legislation for effective dates of each measure; moreover, library staff members stationed on the floor of the house and senate chambers enter legislative actions as they occur and furnish real-time information to the legislative community, executive agencies, and citizens of this state through such proprietary applications as TLIS (the Texas Legislative Information System) and TLO (Texas Legislature Online); and

WHEREAS, Among the services the library offers are a bill status hotline for constituents, professional and confidential research, a daily legislative clipping service, weekly listings of important journal articles, and monthly listings of newsworthy additions to the library's collection; and

WHEREAS, Guided skillfully by director and librarian Mary L. Camp, the Legislative Reference Library staff includes assistant director and librarian Catherine Wusterhausen and librarians Elizabeth Buchanan, Colton Chambers, Ali Dzienkowski, Melanie Harshman, Elizabeth Hinderer, Karen McBurney, Marissa Talamantes, and Ia Wood; the library's archivists are Tricia Bailey, Linna Dean, and Kaelyn Morice; library assistants and administrative staff are Elizabeth Bellisario, Donald Brower, Michelle Martinez, Kelvin Mote, Kali Palmer, Julia Walden, Jay Young, and Fernanda Zamora, and the library's clipping service

staff members are Vincent Cowan, Christopher Taylor, David Wood, and Karen Wright; and

WHEREAS, These hardworking professionals demonstrate a commitment to excellence as they perform their duties with skill and dedication, and they may take justifiable pride in the important services they provide to the legislature and to the citizens of the Lone Star State; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 88th Legislature, hereby honor the Legislative Reference Library and extend to the staff members sincere appreciation for their outstanding contributions; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for the library as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.