SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 526

WHEREAS, Berna Dean Steptoe is retiring from WFAA in Dallas on May 1, 2025, concluding a noteworthy career spanning 33 years with the television station; and

WHEREAS, A member of the WFAA political team, Ms. Steptoe produces and provides analysis for its weekly program, Inside Texas Politics, which airs on 11 stations; in 2019, she accepted the station's Walter Cronkite Award for Excellence in Television Political Journalism at the ceremony held by the National Press Club in Washington, D.C.; she also writes for the station's website and offers in-depth analysis on WFAA's digital political program; in addition, she has been in demand as a public speaker; and

WHEREAS, Before joining WFAA, Ms. Steptoe was employed as an editorial columnist for *The Dallas Examiner*; she focused on politics, government, and community issues; previously, she worked in newspaper sales at the *Fort Worth Star-Telegram* and *Dallas Times Herald* and pursued entrepreneurship; and

WHEREAS, Ms. Steptoe is a graduate of Huston-Tillotson University; highly engaged in the Dallas Chapter of its alumni association, she has held a number of leadership roles; in addition, she is an active member of Zeta Phi Beta Sorority, Incorporated, and she serves on several boards; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of her long career in journalism, Berna Dean Steptoe has demonstrated a steadfast commitment to informing and enlightening the public, and as she embarks on the next exciting chapter of her life, she may indeed reflect with pride on her contributions; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas, 89th Legislature, hereby congratulate Berna Dean Steptoe on her retirement from WFAA and extend to her sincere best wishes for the future; and, be it further

RESOLVED, That an official copy of this Resolution be prepared for Ms. Steptoe as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.

Johnson, Hall, Parker, West

President of the Senate

I hereby certify that the above Resolution was adopted by the Senate on May 15, 2025.

Secretary of the Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate

Member, Texas Senate