H.R. No. 887
                                  R E S O L U T I O N
    1-1        WHEREAS, The passing of Robert G. Drake on August 18, 1992,
    1-2  at the age of 60, has brought a great loss to his family and to the
    1-3  many friends and relatives of this esteemed gentleman; and
    1-4        WHEREAS, Born in Dover, New Hampshire, in 1931, Mr. Drake
    1-5  devoted much of his life to various youth rehabilitative programs;
    1-6  while serving in Korea as a member of the United States Air Force
    1-7  in the 1950s, he gained qualities of leadership that would later
    1-8  serve to guide and direct him throughout his distinguished career
    1-9  in the field of social work; and
   1-10        WHEREAS, After a brief period of employment with Vulcraft
   1-11  Corporation, his professional interests turned toward improving the
   1-12  lives of troubled youth; having received a bachelor of science
   1-13  degree from Central State University in 1961 and a graduate degree
   1-14  in social work from the University of Oklahoma in 1968, Mr. Drake
   1-15  went on to share his wisdom and expertise with countless young
   1-16  people in a number of respected institutions in the Southwest,
   1-17  including Tipton Children's Home, Turley Children's Home, the
   1-18  Oklahoma County Detention Center, and the Girls' Training School of
   1-19  the Oklahoma Department of Institutions in Tecumseh; and
   1-20        WHEREAS, His professional achievements also include an
   1-21  impressive 13-year tenure with the Texas Youth Commission, where he
   1-22  served as state school superintendent, Waco regional director, and
   1-23  director of institutions; and
   1-24        WHEREAS, Building on his many years of professional
    2-1  experience, Mr. Drake founded the Brookhaven Youth Ranch in the
    2-2  community of West in 1986 and successfully operated this
    2-3  outstanding institution as its executive director until his death;
    2-4  and
    2-5        WHEREAS, Robert Drake exemplified the highest standards of
    2-6  excellence, dedication, and commitment to others throughout his
    2-7  long and rewarding career; though his presence is gone from us now,
    2-8  this remarkable gentleman will be remembered for many years to come
    2-9  by all who were privileged to know him; now, therefore, be it
   2-10        RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 73rd Texas
   2-11  Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of Robert G. Drake and
   2-12  extend heartfelt sympathy to the members of his family:  to his
   2-13  wife, Dorothy; to his two sons; to his three stepchildren; and to
   2-14  the many other friends and relatives of this fine gentleman; and,
   2-15  be it further
   2-16        RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared
   2-17  for the members of his family and that when the Texas House of
   2-18  Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of Robert G.
   2-19  Drake.
   2-20  Drake.
   2-21                                                               Denton
   2-22                                                      H.R. No. 887
   2-23  Laney                   Giddings                 Munoz
   2-24  Alexander               Glaze                    Naishtat
   2-25  Allen                   Goodman                  Nieto
   2-26  Alonzo                  Goolsby                  Oakley
   2-27  Alvarado                Granoff                  Ogden
    3-1  Averitt                 Gray                     Oliveira
    3-2  Bailey                  Greenberg                Park
    3-3  Berlanga                Grusendorf               Parra
    3-4  Black                   Gutierrez                Patterson
    3-5  Blackwood               Haggerty                 Pitts
    3-6  Bomer                   Hamric                   Place
    3-7  Bosse                   Harris                   Price
    3-8  Brady                   Hartnett                 Puente
    3-9  Brimer                  Heflin                   Rabuck
   3-10  Cain                    Hernandez                Ramsay
   3-11  Campbell                Hightower                Rangel
   3-12  Carona                  Hilbert                  Raymond
   3-13  Carter                  Hilderbran               Rodriguez
   3-14  Chisum                  Hill                     Romo
   3-15  Clemons                 Hirschi                  Rudd
   3-16  Coleman                 Hochberg                 Sadler
   3-17  Combs                   Holzheauser              Saunders
   3-18  Conley                  Horn                     Schechter
   3-19  Cook                    Hudson                   Seidlits
   3-20  Corte                   Hunter of Taylor         Shields
   3-21  Counts                  Hunter of Nueces         Siebert
   3-22  Crabb                   Jackson                  A. Smith of Harris
   3-23  Craddick                James                    D. Smith of Harris
   3-24  Cuellar of Webb         Johnson                  Smithee
   3-25  Cuellar of Hidalgo      Jones of Lubbock         Solis
   3-26  Culberson               Jones of Dallas          Stiles
   3-27  Danburg                 Junell                   Swinford
    4-1  Davila                  Kamel                    Tallas
    4-2  Davis                   Krusee                   Talton
    4-3  De La Garza             Kubiak                   Telford
    4-4  Dear                    Kuempel                  Thompson of Tarrant
    4-5  Delco                   Lewis                    Thompson of Harris
    4-6  Delisi                  Linebarger               Turner of Coleman
    4-7  Denton                  Longoria                 Turner of Harris
    4-8  Driver                  Luna                     Uher
    4-9  Duncan                  McCall                   Van de Putte
   4-10  Dutton                  McCoulskey               Vowell
   4-11  Earley                  McDonald                 West
   4-12  Eckels                  Madden                   Williamson
   4-13  Edwards                 Marchant                 Willis
   4-14  Erickson                Martin                   Wilson
   4-15  Finnell                 Maxey                    Wolens
   4-16  Flores                  Moffat                   Yarbrough
   4-17  Gallego                 Moreno                   Yost
   4-18  Gallegos                Mowery                   Zbranek
   4-19                                                      H.R. No. 887
   4-20                                      _______________________________
   4-21                                            Speaker of the House
   4-22        I certify that H.R. No. 887 was unanimously adopted by a
   4-23  rising vote of the House on May 30, 1993.
   4-24                                      _______________________________
   4-25                                          Chief Clerk of the House