By:  Turner                                       S.R. No. 18
    1-1                           SENATE RESOLUTION
    1-2        WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is proud to
    1-3  extend congratulations to Hugh J. McCann for his 25 years of
    1-4  distinguished service to Texas A&M University; and
    1-5        WHEREAS, Dr. McCann joined the faculty of
    1-6  Texas A&M University in 1968; he served the university from 1979
    1-7  to 1981 as assistant department head and headed the Department of
    1-8  Philosophy and Humanities from 1981 to 1985; and
    1-9        WHEREAS, An enthusiastic teacher, Dr. McCann has served on
   1-10  numerous department, college, and university committees; he has
   1-11  held positions on several American Philosophy Association committees
   1-12  and currently is secretary-treasurer for the American Philosophical
   1-13  Association's Central Division; and
   1-14        WHEREAS, A highly respected man in his field, Dr. McCann
   1-15  has garnered support for his research work from the National
   1-16  Endowment for the Humanities as well as the Center for Advanced
   1-17  Study in the Behavioral Sciences, and these grants have made
   1-18  possible his studies of philosophy of mind, action theory,
   1-19  metaphysics, and critical thinking; now, therefore, be it
   1-20        RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
   1-21  73rd Legislature, hereby commend and applaud the contributions that
   1-22  Hugh J. McCann has made through the years to Texas A&M University
   1-23  and for which they honor him today; and, be it further
    2-1        RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for
    2-2  Dr. McCann as an expression of highest esteem from the Texas Senate.
    2-3                                 _____________________________________
    2-4                                        President of the Senate
    2-5                                      I hereby certify that the
    2-6                                 above Resolution was adopted by
    2-7                                 the Senate on January 13, 1993.
    2-8                                 _____________________________________
    2-9                                        Secretary of the Senate
   2-10                                 _____________________________________
   2-11                                         Member, Texas Senate