By:  Turner                                      S.R. No. 296
    1-1                           SENATE RESOLUTION
    1-2        WHEREAS, The City of Bryan and its citizens will sorely miss
    1-3  the wisdom and expertise of Chief of Police Charles W. Phelps who
    1-4  is retiring after 33 years of dedicated service; and
    1-5        WHEREAS, Born on September 12, 1937, Charles Phelps graduated
    1-6  from Jewett High School in Jewett, Texas, in 1955; and
    1-7        WHEREAS, Charles Phelps launched his career in law enforcement
    1-8  by going to work for the Bryan Police Department as a patrolman in
    1-9  1960; and
   1-10        WHEREAS, Patrolman Phelps began to earn a reputation for
   1-11  diligence and hard work; in 1961 he advanced to detective in the
   1-12  Bryan Police Force; and
   1-13        WHEREAS, Chief Phelps's splendid record in the line of duty
   1-14  began to earn him regular promotions:  in 1970, he was promoted to
   1-15  Captain and Assistant Chief of the department; in 1973, he was
   1-16  promoted to Major; in 1979 he became Assistant Chief and then
   1-17  Acting Chief of Police; and in 1980 he became Chief of Police of
   1-18  the Bryan Police Department; and
   1-19        WHEREAS, A concerned and active member of his community,
   1-20  Chief Phelps has held offices in numerous groups in his community;
   1-21  he has served as president of the Brazos Noon Lions Club, director
   1-22  of the Brazos County Diabetic Association, and as coach for Little
   1-23  League and Teenage Baseball; and
    2-1        WHEREAS, Frequently winning awards in his chosen profession,
    2-2  Chief Phelps earned a Certificate of Merit from the Bryan Junior
    2-3  Chamber of Commerce in 1966, the Liberty Bell Award from the Brazos
    2-4  County Bar Association in 1976, the Outstanding Law Enforcement
    2-5  Officer designation from the Kiwanis Club in 1977, and, in 1989,
    2-6  the Law Enforcement Commendation Medal from the Sons of the
    2-7  American Revolution; and
    2-8        WHEREAS, The list of organizations that have included
    2-9  Chief Phelps as an officer is long; he was president of the
   2-10  Texas Police Chiefs Association and the Texas Police Association;
   2-11  he was appointed by the governor to the Texas Commission on Law
   2-12  Enforcement Officer Standards and Education from 1985 through 1990
   2-13  and became its chairman for 1990 and 1991; he was chairman of the
   2-14  Legislative Committee of the Texas Police Association and the
   2-15  Brazos Valley Development Council Criminal Justice Committee; he
   2-16  was also a member of the Crimestoppers Advisory Committee, the
   2-17  Texas Municipal League Task Force on Jail Standards for
   2-18  Municipalities, and the Texas A&M Law Enforcement Advisory
   2-19  Committee; and
   2-20        WHEREAS, Dedicated to stopping the rising crime rate in
   2-21  Texas, Chief Phelps has made a prodigious effort to attain that
   2-22  goal; and
   2-23        WHEREAS, Chief Phelps is one of those courageous men who risk
   2-24  their lives every day to protect the homes, neighborhoods, and
   2-25  communities of our citizens, and he is truly worthy of legislative
    3-1  recognition; now, therefore, be it
    3-2        RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
    3-3  73rd Legislature, hereby commend and applaud the meritorious
    3-4  service of Chief Charles Phelps and extend sincere appreciation
    3-5  to him for his 33 years of outstanding service; and, be it further
    3-6        RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for him
    3-7  as a token of high regard and esteem from the Texas Senate with
    3-8  best wishes for many rewarding retirement years.
    3-9                                 _____________________________________
   3-10                                        President of the Senate
   3-11                                      I hereby certify that the
   3-12                                 above Resolution was adopted by
   3-13                                 the Senate on February 22, 1993.
   3-14                                 _____________________________________
   3-15                                        Secretary of the Senate
   3-16                                 _____________________________________
   3-17                                         Member, Texas Senate