By:  Turner                                      S.R. No. 386
    1-1                           SENATE RESOLUTION
    1-2        WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is proud to
    1-3  recognize The Farmers State Bank on the grand occasion of its
    1-4  80th anniversary which is being celebrated in conjunction with
    1-5  the First Annual Limestone County July 4th Celebration; and
    1-6        WHEREAS, The Farmers State Bank was originally granted
    1-7  a charter as the Farmers Guaranty State Bank on January 10, 1913;
    1-8  and
    1-9        WHEREAS, The initial capital investment was $25,000 and
   1-10  today the bank has total assets of more than $64 million with
   1-11  a capital base exceeding $5 million; and
   1-12        WHEREAS, Over the last 80 years, the bank's resources have
   1-13  changed with the economy; the bank was chartered when cotton was
   1-14  "King" and its mainstay is now the cattle industry and oil and gas
   1-15  production; and
   1-16        WHEREAS, The Farmers State Bank has had the distinction of
   1-17  being the largest bank in Limestone County for many years and has
   1-18  maintained that position by continually staying abreast of the
   1-19  latest banking innovations; and
   1-20        WHEREAS, Under the outstanding leadership of its current
   1-21  president, James L. Bradley, and its well-experienced officers
   1-22  and directors, The Farmers State Bank offers stability and superior
   1-23  services to the residents of Groesbeck, Thornton, and Wortham; now,
    2-1  therefore, be it
    2-2        RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
    2-3  73rd Legislature, hereby extend congratulations to The Farmers
    2-4  State Bank on its 80th anniversary and send best wishes for the
    2-5  future; and, be it further
    2-6        RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for
    2-7  the bank as a token of regard from the Texas Senate.
    2-8                                 _____________________________________
    2-9                                        President of the Senate
   2-10                                      I hereby certify that the
   2-11                                 above Resolution was adopted by
   2-12                                 the Senate on March 9, 1993.
   2-13                                 _____________________________________
   2-14                                        Secretary of the Senate
   2-15                                 _____________________________________
   2-16                                          Member, Texas Senate