By:  Sibley                                      S.R. No. 930
    1-1                           SENATE RESOLUTION
    1-2        WHEREAS, The Senate of the State of Texas is proud to
    1-3  recognize Dr. Miro A. Pavelka who has been selected to serve as
    1-4  the Supreme Grand Master of the Delta Sigma Delta dental
    1-5  fraternity; and
    1-6        WHEREAS, Born in Ennis, Texas, Dr. Pavelka graduated from
    1-7  Texas A&M University with a bachelor of science degree in zoology
    1-8  and attended Baylor College of Dentistry in Dallas; and
    1-9        WHEREAS, At Baylor, he joined the Lambda Lambda Chapter of
   1-10  Delta Sigma Delta and served as its Grand Master during his junior
   1-11  year; while a student, he was inducted into Omicron Kappa Upsilon
   1-12  and the Baylor Odontological Honor Society; and
   1-13        WHEREAS, Following graduation, he completed a residency at
   1-14  Baylor University Medical Center and Baylor College of Dentistry
   1-15  and received a Certificate in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery with
   1-16  a Master of Science in Dentistry degree from Baylor University in
   1-17  Waco, Texas; and
   1-18        WHEREAS, Dr. Pavelka has a well-known private practice in
   1-19  Richardson, Texas, and is a Clinical Assistant Professor in the
   1-20  Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at Baylor College of
   1-21  Dentistry; and
   1-22        WHEREAS, An outstanding oral surgeon, professor, and
   1-23  administrator, Dr. Pavelka became a Fellow of the American
    2-1  Association of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons and a Diplomate
    2-2  of the American Board of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery; in 1989,
    2-3  he served as president of the North Texas Society of Oral and
    2-4  Maxillofacial Surgeons and currently serves as vice-president
    2-5  of the Texas Society of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgeons; and
    2-6        WHEREAS, A recognized expert in his field, he is active
    2-7  in his specialty on the national level and is an alternate delegate
    2-8  to the House of Delegates of the American Association of Oral and
    2-9  Maxillofacial Surgeons; and
   2-10        WHEREAS, Dr. Pavelka is active in the affairs of Richardson
   2-11  Medical Center, his primary hospital, and next year will serve as
   2-12  its Chief of Surgery; he also is a member of the Anesthesia Advisory
   2-13  Committee for the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners; and
   2-14        WHEREAS, Devoted to his profession and to his community,
   2-15  Dr. Pavelka has dedicated his life to providing superior oral
   2-16  surgery and care for Richardson area residents; and
   2-17        WHEREAS, A man of many talents and an exemplary gentleman,
   2-18  Dr. Pavelka is greatly admired by his colleagues at Baylor College
   2-19  of Dentistry and by physicians across the country who are aware of
   2-20  his excellent work in the field of oral and maxillofacial surgery;
   2-21  now, therefore, be it
   2-22        RESOLVED, That the Senate of the State of Texas,
   2-23  73rd Legislature, hereby commend Dr. Miro Pavelka for his exceptional
   2-24  accomplishments and congratulate him on his selection to serve as
   2-25  Supreme Grand Master of the premier dental fraternity, Delta Sigma
    3-1  Delta; and, be it further
    3-2        RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be prepared for
    3-3  Dr. Pavelka as an expression of high regard from the Texas Senate.
    3-4  SARA.
    3-5                                 _____________________________________
    3-6                                        President of the Senate
    3-7                                      I hereby certify that the
    3-8                                 above Resolution was adopted by
    3-9                                 the Senate on May 13, 1993.
   3-10                                 _____________________________________
   3-11                                        Secretary of the Senate
   3-12                                 _____________________________________
   3-13                                         Member, Texas Senate