1-1           WHEREAS, The passing of the Honorable Winford Lee Dunn, Sr.,

 1-2     of Texarkana on October 31, 1995, at the age of 87, brought a great

 1-3     loss to the family and many friends of this esteemed gentleman; and

 1-4           WHEREAS, Born April 6, 1908, in Oak Grove, Mr. Dunn was

 1-5     graduated from De Kalb High School and attended East Texas State

 1-6     University at Commerce before embarking on a 35-year career as a

 1-7     public school teacher at the age of 18; and

 1-8           WHEREAS, Mr. Dunn's teaching career was temporarily disrupted

 1-9     when he was called to serve his country during World War II; at the

1-10     conclusion of his service, he balanced his teaching duties with his

1-11     responsibilities as a member of the Texas  House of

1-12     Representatives, where he coauthored many landmark bills, including

1-13     one that proposed lowering the voting age to 18; and

1-14           WHEREAS, Following his long and productive tenure as a

1-15     teacher and state representative, he served two terms as a justice

1-16     of the peace for Bowie County, and although he supported his family

1-17     for a time as a farmer, rancher, and grocery store owner, Mr. Dunn

1-18     is perhaps best remembered for his years of service as both an

1-19     educator and a servant of the people; and

1-20           WHEREAS, A devout Christian, Mr. Dunn was a longtime member

1-21     of Hardy Memorial United Methodist Church, where he was on the

1-22     Board of Stewards and served as president of the Jack House Bible

1-23     Class; he was recognized among his fellow parishioners as a man of

1-24     honesty and integrity whose positive attitude, even in the face of

 2-1     adversity, inspired a similar outlook among his family and friends;

 2-2     and

 2-3           WHEREAS, Winford Lee Dunn, Sr., was a man of great faith and

 2-4     compassion, and his strength of character enabled him to instigate

 2-5     many remarkable changes in his life and the lives of others;

 2-6     although his guidance and devotion have been sorely missed, his

 2-7     unique spirit surely lives on in the hearts of those who knew him;

 2-8     now, therefore, be it

 2-9           RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 75th Texas

2-10     Legislature hereby pay tribute to the life of the Honorable Winford

2-11     Lee Dunn, Sr., and extend sincere sympathy to his family and

2-12     friends: to his sons, Winford L. Dunn, Jr., and his wife, Annette,

2-13     and James M. Dunn; to his daughter, Capitaleen Dunn; to his

2-14     brothers and sister-in-law, Judge T. M. Dunn, and L. C. and Frances

2-15     Dunn; to his sister-in-law, Ruby Dunn; to his close friend, Agnes

2-16     Holt; to his grandchildren, nieces, and nephews; and to the many

2-17     other people whose lives were touched by this beloved gentleman;

2-18     and, be it further

2-19           RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

2-20     prepared for the members of his family and that when the Texas

2-21     House of Representatives adjourns this day, it do so in memory of

2-22     the Honorable Winford Lee Dunn, Sr.


         Laney                   Gutierrez                Oliveira

         Alexander               Haggerty                 Olivo

         Allen                   Hamric                   Palmer

         Alvarado                Hartnett                 Patterson

         Averitt                 Hawley                   Pickett

         Bailey                  Heflin                   Pitts

         Berlanga                Hernandez                Place

         Bonnen                  Hightower                Price

         Bosse                   Hilbert                  Puente

         Brimer                  Hilderbran               Rabuck

         Burnam                  Hill                     Ramsay

         Carter                  Hinojosa                 Rangel

         Chavez                  Hirschi                  Raymond

         Chisum                  Hochberg                 Reyna of Bexar

         Christian               Hodge                    Reyna of Dallas

         Clark                   Holzheauser              Rhodes

         Coleman                 Horn                     Rodriguez

         Cook                    Howard                   Roman

         Corte                   Hunter                   Sadler

         Counts                  Hupp                     Seaman

         Crabb                   Isett                    Serna

         Craddick                Jackson                  Shields

         Cuellar                 Janek                    Siebert

         Culberson               Jones of Lubbock         Smith

         Danburg                 Jones of Dallas          Smithee

         Davila                  Junell                   Solis

         Davis                   Kamel                    Solomons

         Delisi                  Keel                     Staples

         Denny                   Keffer                   Stiles

         Driver                  King                     Swinford

         Dukes                   Krusee                   Talton

         Dunnam                  Kubiak                   Telford

         Dutton                  Kuempel                  Thompson

         Edwards                 Lewis of Tarrant         Tillery

         Ehrhardt                Lewis of Orange          Torres

         Eiland                  Longoria                 Turner of Coleman

         Elkins                  Luna                     Turner of Harris

         Farrar                  McCall                   Uher

         Finnell                 McClendon                Van de Putte

         Flores                  McReynolds               Walker

         Gallego                 Madden                   West

         Galloway                Marchant                 Williams

         Garcia                  Maxey                    Williamson

         Giddings                Merritt                  Wilson

         Glaze                   Moffat                   Wise

         Goodman                 Moreno                   Wohlgemuth

         Goolsby                 Mowery                   Wolens

         Gray                    Naishtat                 Woolley

         Greenberg               Nixon                    Yarbrough

         Grusendorf              Oakley                   Zbranek


                                                   Speaker of the House

               I certify that H.R. No. 36 was unanimously adopted by a

         rising vote of the House on March 20, 1997.


                                                 Chief Clerk of the House