1-1           WHEREAS, February 26, 1997, marks the birthday of our friend

 1-2     and colleague the Honorable Domingo Garcia, and although it is

 1-3     entirely possible that this is but the first of many 39th

 1-4     birthdays, this memorable milestone in his life is truly worthy of

 1-5     special recognition at this time; and

 1-6           WHEREAS, An attorney by trade, Representative Garcia opened

 1-7     his law practice in 1983; since that time the firm has prospered,

 1-8     as have the manufacturers of the little yellow sticky notes that

 1-9     are his favored means of communication with his staff; and

1-10           WHEREAS, A dedicated public servant and valued member of the

1-11     community, Representative Garcia has achieved a number of notable

1-12     distinctions in the fields of law, business, and politics, but less

1-13     well known is the fact that he and his beloved Corvette hold the

1-14     land speed record for the Capitol parking garage; and

1-15           WHEREAS, Though this dapper daredevil's thirst for adventure

1-16     has led him to travel to the far reaches of the globe, to this day

1-17     he derives his greatest joy and satisfaction from his close-knit

1-18     family, and his wife, Dr. Maria Elba Garcia-Ibancovichi, and their

1-19     sons, Fernando and Joaquin, know him first and foremost as a

1-20     devoted husband and father; and

1-21           WHEREAS, The spirit of fun in which this tribute is intended

1-22     in no way diminishes the respect and affection his colleagues feel

1-23     for Representative Garcia, and the warm congratulations we offer

1-24     him at this auspicious juncture in his life are heartfelt; now,

 2-1     therefore, be it

 2-2           RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 75th Texas

 2-3     Legislature hereby pay tribute to the Honorable Domingo Garcia on

 2-4     the occasion of his 39th birthday and extend to him sincere best

 2-5     wishes for continued success and happiness in the years to come;

 2-6     and, be it further

 2-7           RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

 2-8     prepared for Representative Garcia as an expression of high regard

 2-9     by his colleagues in the Texas House of Representatives.

                                                              Reyna of Bexar

         Laney                   Gutierrez                Oliveira

         Alexander               Haggerty                 Olivo

         Allen                   Hamric                   Palmer

         Alvarado                Hartnett                 Patterson

         Averitt                 Hawley                   Pickett

         Bailey                  Heflin                   Pitts

         Berlanga                Hernandez                Place

         Bonnen                  Hightower                Price

         Bosse                   Hilbert                  Puente

         Brimer                  Hilderbran               Rabuck

         Burnam                  Hill                     Ramsay

         Carter                  Hinojosa                 Rangel

         Chavez                  Hirschi                  Raymond

         Chisum                  Hochberg                 Reyna of Bexar

         Christian               Hodge                    Reyna of Dallas

         Clark                   Holzheauser              Rhodes

         Coleman                 Horn                     Rodriguez

         Cook                    Howard                   Roman

         Corte                   Hunter                   Sadler

         Counts                  Hupp                     Seaman

         Crabb                   Isett                    Serna

         Craddick                Jackson                  Shields

         Cuellar                 Janek                    Siebert

         Culberson               Jones of Lubbock         Smith

         Danburg                 Jones of Dallas          Smithee

         Davila                  Junell                   Solis

         Davis                   Kamel                    Solomons

         Delisi                  Keel                     Staples

         Denny                   Keffer                   Stiles

         Driver                  King                     Swinford

         Dukes                   Krusee                   Talton

         Dunnam                  Kubiak                   Telford

         Dutton                  Kuempel                  Thompson

         Edwards                 Lewis of Tarrant         Tillery

         Ehrhardt                Lewis of Orange          Torres

         Eiland                  Longoria                 Turner of Coleman

         Elkins                  Luna                     Turner of Harris

         Farrar                  McCall                   Uher

         Finnell                 McClendon                Van de Putte

         Flores                  McReynolds               Walker

         Gallego                 Madden                   West

         Galloway                Marchant                 Williams

         Giddings                Maxey                    Williamson

         Glaze                   Merritt                  Wilson

         Goodman                 Moffat                   Wise

         Goolsby                 Moreno                   Wohlgemuth

         Gray                    Mowery                   Wolens

         Greenberg               Naishtat                 Woolley

         Grusendorf              Nixon                    Yarbrough

                                 Oakley                   Zbranek


                                                   Speaker of the House

               I certify that H.R. No. 147 was adopted by the House on

         February 26, 1997, by a non-record vote.


                                                 Chief Clerk of the House