By Clark                                         H.R. No. 171

      75R5845 WMS-D                           

                                 R E S O L U T I O N

 1-1           WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is proud to honor

 1-2     the Sherman and Denison Chambers of Commerce for their many

 1-3     significant accomplishments in behalf of their region and their

 1-4     respective cities; and

 1-5           WHEREAS, The Denison Chamber of Commerce, founded in 1912,

 1-6     currently has 490 members, and throughout the organization's

 1-7     history, its membership has sought to address in a positive manner

 1-8     all aspects of life affecting the community; and

 1-9           WHEREAS, Also boasting an impressive legacy of service, the

1-10     Sherman Chamber of Commerce was founded in 1915 and chartered on

1-11     May 6, 1938; today, the chamber has approximately 800 members and

1-12     works in concert with the Sherman Economic Development Corporation

1-13     to promote economic development, tourism, and general business

1-14     development activities; and

1-15           WHEREAS, The Sherman and Denison Chambers of Commerce play a

1-16     vital role in the growth and development of their communities, and

1-17     the significant efforts made by the members of each organization in

1-18     bringing prosperity to this vital area of the Lone Star State merit

1-19     special legislative recognition at this time; now, therefore, be it

1-20           RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 75th Texas

1-21     Legislature hereby recognize February 26, 1997, as Sherman and

1-22     Denison Chambers of Commerce Day at the Capitol and extend a warm

1-23     welcome to the delegations from those two organizations on the

1-24     occasion of their visit; and, be it further

 2-1           RESOLVED, That official copies of this resolution be prepared

 2-2     for the Sherman and Denison Chambers of Commerce as an expression

 2-3     of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.