1-1           WHEREAS, The Texas House of Representatives is proud to

 1-2     recognize the State Firemen's and Fire Marshals' Association of

 1-3     Texas for its invaluable work in providing protection to the

 1-4     citizens of our communities; and

 1-5           WHEREAS, Organized in 1876, the State Firemen's and Fire

 1-6     Marshals' Association of Texas is the oldest Texas association in

 1-7     existence and has provided 121 years of continuous service to its

 1-8     members and the State of Texas fire service; and

 1-9           WHEREAS, The purpose of the association is to promote, unify,

1-10     represent, and educate members of the fire service community of

1-11     Texas; and

1-12           WHEREAS, There are more than 1,000 fire departments and more

1-13     than 15,000 individual memberships from the volunteer, industrial,

1-14     and career sectors of the state and more than 100 associate

1-15     memberships from the related fire industry; and

1-16           WHEREAS, An affiliate of the Texas Municipal League, the

1-17     Texas Fire Chiefs Association was organized in 1961 to promote the

1-18     fire service as a profession, to improve the methods of fire

1-19     prevention, protection, and extinguishment, and to maintain high

1-20     standards of professional ethics; its membership is composed of

1-21     over 200 career, volunteer, and industrial fire chiefs and

1-22     associate members; and

1-23           WHEREAS, For the past 121 years, members of the State

1-24     Firemen's and Fire Marshals' Association of Texas have handled

 2-1     their responsibilities with efficiency and dedication to those they

 2-2     so conscientiously serve; and

 2-3           WHEREAS, Their meritorious work and exemplary devotion to

 2-4     their communities have earned the respect and admiration of all the

 2-5     citizens of Texas; now, therefore, be it

 2-6           RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 75th Texas

 2-7     Legislature hereby commend the State Firemen's and Fire Marshals'

 2-8     Association of Texas and the Texas Fire Chiefs Association and

 2-9     recognize Wednesday, March 12, 1997, as "Firefighter Appreciation

2-10     Day"; and, be it further

2-11           RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be

2-12     prepared for these distinguished associations as an expression of

2-13     high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.


         Laney                   Gutierrez                Oliveira

         Alexander               Haggerty                 Olivo

         Allen                   Hamric                   Palmer

         Alvarado                Hartnett                 Patterson

         Averitt                 Hawley                   Pickett

         Bailey                  Heflin                   Pitts

         Berlanga                Hernandez                Place

         Bonnen                  Hightower                Price

         Bosse                   Hilbert                  Puente

         Brimer                  Hilderbran               Rabuck

         Burnam                  Hill                     Ramsay

         Carter                  Hinojosa                 Rangel

         Chavez                  Hirschi                  Raymond

         Chisum                  Hochberg                 Reyna of Bexar

         Christian               Hodge                    Reyna of Dallas

         Clark                   Holzheauser              Rhodes

         Coleman                 Horn                     Rodriguez

         Cook                    Howard                   Roman

         Corte                   Hunter                   Sadler

         Counts                  Hupp                     Seaman

         Crabb                   Isett                    Serna

         Craddick                Jackson                  Shields

         Cuellar                 Janek                    Siebert

         Culberson               Jones of Lubbock         Smith

         Danburg                 Jones of Dallas          Smithee

         Davila                  Junell                   Solis

         Davis                   Kamel                    Solomons

         Delisi                  Keel                     Staples

         Denny                   Keffer                   Stiles

         Driver                  King                     Swinford

         Dukes                   Krusee                   Talton

         Dunnam                  Kubiak                   Telford

         Dutton                  Kuempel                  Thompson

         Edwards                 Lewis of Tarrant         Tillery

         Ehrhardt                Lewis of Orange          Torres

         Eiland                  Longoria                 Turner of Coleman

         Elkins                  Luna                     Turner of Harris

         Farrar                  McCall                   Uher

         Finnell                 McClendon                Van de Putte

         Flores                  McReynolds               Walker

         Gallego                 Madden                   West

         Galloway                Marchant                 Williams

         Garcia                  Maxey                    Williamson

         Giddings                Merritt                  Wilson

         Glaze                   Moffat                   Wise

         Goodman                 Moreno                   Wohlgemuth

         Goolsby                 Mowery                   Wolens

         Gray                    Naishtat                 Woolley

         Greenberg               Nixon                    Yarbrough

         Grusendorf              Oakley                   Zbranek


                                                   Speaker of the House

               I certify that H.R. No. 341 was adopted by the House on March

         12, 1997, by a non-record vote.


                                                 Chief Clerk of the House