Thursday, May 1, 1997 
                                     7:30 am 
                           Admin. Comte. Office E1.714 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.11, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on  
         Administration was held on Thursday, May 1, 1997 in Admin.  
         Comte. Office E1.714, at Austin, Texas.   
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS PRESENT 
                                                 AFTER ROLL CALL: 
         Senator Chris Harris                    Senator Carlos Truan 
         Senator Kenneth Armbrister              Senator J.E. Brown 
         Senator Mike Moncrief                   Senator Bill Ratliff 
                                                 Senator David Sibley 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 7:30 am.  The  
         following business was transacted.   
         Senator Harris asked if there were any questions or discussion  
         on any of the bills listed for certification for the Local and  
         Uncontested Calendar.  There was discussion.  Senator Moncrief  
         moved to certify all the bills on the list with the exception  
         of HB 51, HB 791, HB 993, HB 1651, HB 2692 left pending, SB  
         102, SB 629, SB 919, SB 1396, and SB 1786.  Motion passed 7  
         ayes, 0 nays. 
         Senator Harris recognized Senator Brown who asked if there was  
         any additional information on the hours of the car guards.   
         Carleton Turner explained that last week had been unusual in  
         that (4) four car guards had been out sick but that most of  
         them were back and in addition another car guard had been  
         hired for the duration of the session.  There would now be a  
         guard on duty until 9:00 PM.  
         There being no further business, Senator Harris moved that the  
         Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the Chair.   
         Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Chris Harris, Chair 
         Myra J. Schmitt, Clerk