Tuesday, May 20, 1997 
                                     7:30 am 
                            Admin. Comte. Ofc. E1.714 
         Pursuant to suspension of Senate Rule 11.11, a public hearing  
         of the Senate Committee on Administration was held on Tuesday,  
         May 20, 1997 in Admin. Comte. Ofc. E1.714, at Austin, Texas.   
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS PRESENT AFTER 
                                                 ROLL CALL: 
         Senator Chris Harris                    Senator Kenneth  
         Senator Carlos Truan 
         Senator J.E. Brown 
         Senator Mike Moncrief 
         Senator Bill Ratliff 
         Senator David Sibley 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 7:30 am.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted.   
         The Chair informed the committee that the committee office had  
         already received  175 of the bills recommended for the local  
         and uncontested calendar and anticipated many more before the  
         Wednesday, May 22, 1997 deadline.  He stated that committee  
         staff would be giving all their staff a list of what was  
         already on the list so they could start evaluating the bills.   
         Senator Harris also stated that he would need help with the  
         local calendar on Monday, May 26, 1997.  Senator Ratliff and  
         Senator Moncrief offered their assistance. 
         Senator Harris asked if there were any questions or discussion  
         on any of the bills listed for certification on the Local and  
         Uncontested Calendar.  There was discussion.  Senator Moncrief  
         moved to certify all the bills on the list with the exception  
         of HB 110, HB 770 passed 5/16/97,  HB 1107 left pending, HB  
         1301, HB 1401 passed 5/17/97, HB 1463,  HB 2049, HB 2255,  HB  
         2300 passed 5/16/97, HB 2649, HB 2827, HB 3086, HB 3372, HJR  
         96, SB 1949 passed 5/16/97, and  SB 1956 passed 5/16/97.   
         Motion carried with a vote of 7 ayes, 0 nays. 
         There being no further business, at 8:15 am Senator Harris  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the Chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Chris Harris, Chair 
         Myra J. Schmitt, Clerk