SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                               Friday, May 2, 1997 
                         Upon Adjournment of the Senate 
                                 Senate Chamber 
         Pursuant to suspension of Senate Rule 11.11, a public hearing  
         of the Senate Committee on Finance was held on Friday, May 2,  
         1997 in the Senate Chamber at Austin, Texas.   
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Bill Ratliff                    Senator J.E. Brown 
         Senator Carlos Truan 
         Senator Kenneth Armbrister 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
         Senator Teel Bivins 
         Senator Eddie Lucio, Jr. 
         Senator Mike Moncrief 
         Senator Jane Nelson 
         Senator David Sibley 
         Senator Jeff Wentworth 
         Senator Royce West 
         Senator Judith Zaffirini 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 10:30 am.  There  
         being a quorum present, the following business was transacted.   
         The following members arrived after the roll was called:   
         The Chair laid out SB 918 and recognized the author, Senator  
         Patterson, to explain the bill.   
         Senator Lucio, Jr. sent up a committee substitute; the Chair  
         recognized Senator Patterson to explain the difference between  
         the committee substitute and the bill as filed.  Senator  
         Lucio, Jr. moved adoption of the committee substitute, without  
         objection, it was so ordered. 
              No witnesses appeared for, against, or on SB 918. 
         Senator Truan moved that SB 918 do not pass but that CSSB 918  
         be reported back to the Senate with the recommendation that it  
         do pass and be printed.  The motion carried with a vote of 11  
         ayes, 0 nays, 0 present not voting, and 2 absent.   
         There being no further business, at 10:45 pm Senator Ratliff  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the Chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Bill Ratliff, Chair 
         Patricia Hicks, Clerk