1-1           WHEREAS, February 17, 1999, marks the birthday of our
 1-2     esteemed colleague, the Honorable Harold V. Dutton, Jr., and it
 1-3     gives the members of this chamber great pleasure to acknowledge him
 1-4     on this auspicious occasion; and
 1-5           WHEREAS, A native of Houston's Fifth Ward, Representative
 1-6     Dutton is a proud graduate of Phillis Wheatley High School and
 1-7     Texas Southern University, from which he earned a bachelor's degree
 1-8     in accounting in 1966, and he was designated a distinguished
 1-9     alumnus by that university; and
1-10           WHEREAS, This esteemed public servant also graduated from the
1-11     Thurgood Marshall School of Law and currently serves the university
1-12     as an adjunct professor; he operates a private legal practice in
1-13     Houston and is a member of the Texas Bar Association, the Houston
1-14     Bar Association, the Texas Trial Lawyers Association, and the
1-15     American Trial Lawyers Association; and
1-16           WHEREAS, Representative Dutton's professional career has also
1-17     encompassed employment with Conoco, Inc., and service as the
1-18     president of Four Star Broadcasting; granted a license to construct
1-19     and operate an independent UHF television station in Houston in
1-20     1986, he later hosted the television show "Sunday Night Journal,"
1-21     which featured guests of local and national interest; and
1-22           WHEREAS, Representative Dutton is now in his eighth term in
1-23     the Texas House of Representatives, which he currently serves as
1-24     co-chairman of the Joint Select Committee on Historically
 2-1     Underutilized Businesses and as vice chairman of the Public
 2-2     Education Committee and the House Democratic Caucus; in addition,
 2-3     he is an esteemed member of the House Calendars Committee, the
 2-4     House Committee on Civil Practices, the Select Committee on
 2-5     Constitutional Revision, the Steering Committee for the House
 2-6     Research Organization, the Legislative Study Group, the Legislative
 2-7     Black Caucus, and the Harris County Delegation; and
 2-8           WHEREAS, Representative Dutton's myriad legislative
 2-9     accomplishments include successful sponsorship of Texas' first
2-10     statutory program for women-owned and minority-owned businesses and
2-11     initiatives addressing public education improvements and insurance
2-12     availability and affordability; his achievements have earned him
2-13     recognition as Legislator of the Year by the Forward Times
2-14     Newspaper, the Houston Police Officers Association, the Harris
2-15     County Deputy Sheriff's Association, and the Afro-American Deputy
2-16     Sheriff's Association; and
2-17           WHEREAS, Throughout his many years of legislative service,
2-18     Representative Dutton has played an active role in making this
2-19     state a better place in which to live, work, and raise a family,
2-20     and the occasion of his birthday provides a fitting opportunity to
2-21     honor him; now, therefore, be it
2-22           RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 76th Texas
2-23     Legislature hereby congratulate the Honorable Harold V. Dutton,
2-24     Jr., on the joyous occasion of his birthday and extend to him
2-25     sincere best wishes for continued success and happiness; and, be it
2-26     further
2-27           RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
 3-1     prepared for Representative Dutton as an expression of highest
 3-2     regard by his colleagues in the Texas House of Representatives.
         Laney                   Glaze                    Moreno of El Paso
         Alexander               Goodman                  Morrison
         Allen                   Goolsby                  Mowery
         Alvarado                Gray                     Naishtat
         Averitt                 Green                    Najera
         Bailey                  Greenberg                Nixon
         Berman                  Grusendorf               Noriega
         Bonnen                  Gutierrez                Oliveira
         Bosse                   Haggerty                 Olivo
         Brimer                  Hamric                   Palmer
         Brown of Kaufman        Hardcastle               Pickett
         Brown of Brazos         Hartnett                 Pitts
         Burnam                  Hawley                   Puente
         Capelo                  Heflin                   Ramsay
         Carter                  Hilbert                  Rangel
         Chavez                  Hilderbran               Reyna of Bexar
         Chisum                  Hill                     Reyna of Dallas
         Christian               Hinojosa                 Ritter
         Clark                   Hochberg                 Sadler
         Coleman                 Hodge                    Salinas
         Cook                    Homer                    Seaman
         Corte                   Hope                     Shields
         Counts                  Howard                   Siebert
         Crabb                   Hunter                   Smith
         Craddick                Hupp                     Smithee
         Crownover               Isett                    Solis of Cameron
         Cuellar                 Janek                    Solis of Bexar
         Culberson               Jones of Brazos          Solomons
         Danburg                 Jones of Lubbock         Staples
         Davis of Harris         Jones of Dallas          Swinford
         Davis of Dallas         Junell                   Talton
         Delisi                  Keel                     Telford
         Denny                   Keffer                   Thompson
         Deshotel                King of Parker           Tillery
         Driver                  King of Uvalde           Truitt
         Dukes                   Krusee                   Turner of Coleman
         Dunnam                  Kuempel                  Turner of Harris
         Edwards                 Lengefeld                Uher
         Ehrhardt                Lewis of Tarrant         Uresti
         Eiland                  Lewis of Orange          Van de Putte
         Elkins                  Longoria                 Walker
         Ellis                   Luna                     West
         Farabee                 McCall                   Williams
         Farrar                  McClendon                Wilson
         Flores                  McReynolds               Wise
         Gallego                 Madden                   Wohlgemuth
         Garcia                  Marchant                 Wolens
         George                  Maxey                    Woolley
         Giddings                Merritt                  Yarbrough
                                 Moreno of Harris         Zbranek
                                                   Speaker of the House
               I certify that H.R. No. 198 was adopted by the House on
         February 17, 1999, by a non-record vote.
                                                 Chief Clerk of the House