1-1           WHEREAS, The Texas State Library and Archives Commission is
 1-2     celebrating its 90th anniversary, and the members, staff, and
 1-3     guests of the commission will gather at the Lorenzo de Zavala State
 1-4     Library and Archives Building on March 29, 1999, to celebrate this
 1-5     historic occasion; and
 1-6           WHEREAS, Created in 1909 as the Texas Library and Historical
 1-7     Commission, the agency was established as a "place for information"
 1-8     that would have the resources needed by members of the legislature,
 1-9     state administrators, and the public; and
1-10           WHEREAS, With the belief that public education is the
1-11     business of the state, the commission's directives were enacted "to
1-12     offer free public library services and books that will help toward
1-13     enlarging the powers of the individual, industrially and otherwise,
1-14     and toward raising the standard of citizenship and of civic
1-15     responsibility" for Texans; and
1-16           WHEREAS, The Texas State Library and Archives Commission
1-17     continues to respond to these directives by promoting and assisting
1-18     libraries and helping librarians to better serve Texans with
1-19     Internet services and resources, by efficiently managing state and
1-20     local governmental records, by offering services to the blind and
1-21     reading disabled, and by preserving the unique heritage that is the
1-22     Lone Star State; and
1-23           WHEREAS, The benefits received by the citizens of Texas from
1-24     the Texas State Library and Archives Commission through its
 2-1     services and programs are remarkable and the agency's work is
 2-2     indeed commendable, and it is a privilege to honor all those
 2-3     associated with the commission at this time; now, therefore, be it
 2-4           RESOLVED, That the House of Representatives of the 76th Texas
 2-5     Legislature hereby recognize the 90th anniversary of the Texas
 2-6     State Library and Archives Commission and extend sincere best
 2-7     wishes to the many individuals who have contributed to this
 2-8     celebration; and, be it further
 2-9           RESOLVED, That an official copy of this resolution be
2-10     prepared for the Texas State Library and Archives Commission as an
2-11     expression of high regard by the Texas House of Representatives.
         Laney                   Glaze                    Moreno of El Paso
         Alexander               Goodman                  Morrison
         Allen                   Goolsby                  Mowery
         Alvarado                Gray                     Naishtat
         Averitt                 Green                    Najera
         Bailey                  Greenberg                Nixon
         Berman                  Grusendorf               Noriega
         Bonnen                  Gutierrez                Oliveira
         Bosse                   Haggerty                 Olivo
         Brimer                  Hamric                   Palmer
         Brown of Kaufman        Hardcastle               Pickett
         Brown of Brazos         Hartnett                 Pitts
         Burnam                  Hawley                   Puente
         Capelo                  Heflin                   Ramsay
         Carter                  Hilbert                  Rangel
         Chavez                  Hilderbran               Reyna of Bexar
         Chisum                  Hill                     Reyna of Dallas
         Christian               Hinojosa                 Ritter
         Clark                   Hochberg                 Sadler
         Coleman                 Hodge                    Salinas
         Cook                    Homer                    Seaman
         Corte                   Hope                     Shields
         Counts                  Howard                   Siebert
         Crabb                   Hunter                   Smith
         Craddick                Hupp                     Smithee
         Crownover               Isett                    Solis of Cameron
         Cuellar                 Janek                    Solis of Bexar
         Culberson               Jones of Brazos          Solomons
         Danburg                 Jones of Lubbock         Staples
         Davis of Harris         Jones of Dallas          Swinford
         Davis of Dallas         Junell                   Talton
         Delisi                  Keel                     Telford
         Denny                   Keffer                   Thompson
         Deshotel                King of Parker           Tillery
         Driver                  King of Uvalde           Truitt
         Dukes                   Krusee                   Turner of Coleman
         Dunnam                  Kuempel                  Turner of Harris
         Dutton                  Lengefeld                Uher
         Edwards                 Lewis of Tarrant         Uresti
         Ehrhardt                Lewis of Orange          Van de Putte
         Eiland                  Longoria                 Walker
         Elkins                  Luna                     West
         Ellis                   McCall                   Williams
         Farabee                 McClendon                Wilson
         Farrar                  McReynolds               Wise
         Flores                  Madden                   Wohlgemuth
         Gallego                 Marchant                 Wolens
         Garcia                  Maxey                    Woolley
         George                  Merritt                  Yarbrough
         Giddings                Moreno of Harris         Zbranek
                                                   Speaker of the House
               I certify that H.R. No. 507 was adopted by the House on March
         29, 1999, by a non-record vote.
                                                 Chief Clerk of the House