By:  Harris                                            S.B. No. 481
                                A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
                                       AN ACT
 1-1     relating to the purchase of library materials by certain
 1-2     institutions of higher education with constitutional funds.
 1-4           SECTION 1.  Subsection (a), Section 62.021, Education Code,
 1-5     is amended to read as follows:
 1-6           (a)  Each fiscal year, an eligible institution is entitled to
 1-7     receive an amount allocated in accordance with this section from
 1-8     funds appropriated by Article VII, Section 17(a), of the
 1-9     Constitution of Texas.  The comptroller of public accounts shall
1-10     distribute funds allocated under this subsection only on
1-11     presentation of a claim and issuance of a warrant in accordance
1-12     with Section 403.071, Government Code.  The comptroller may not
1-13     issue a warrant from any funds allocated under this subsection
1-14     before the delivery of goods or services described in Section 17,
1-15     Article VII, Texas Constitution, except for the payment of
1-16     principal or interest on bonds or notes or the purchase of books
1-17     and other published library materials as provided by Section
1-18     2155.386, Government Code.  The allocation of funds under this
1-19     subsection is made in accordance with an equitable formula
1-20     consisting of the following elements:  space deficit, facilities
1-21     condition, institutional complexity, separate allocations for
1-22     medical units and the Texas State Technical College System, and an
1-23     additional allocation for Texas Southern University for compliance
1-24     with the Texas Desegregation Plan.  The amounts allocated by the
 2-1     formula are as follows:
 2-2     $ 5,572,558    Texas A&M University--Commerce [East Texas State
 2-3                    University] including Texas A&M
 2-4                    University--Texarkana [East Texas State University
 2-5                    at Texarkana];
 2-6     $ 9,468,548    Lamar University including Lamar University at
 2-7                    Orange and Lamar University at Port Arthur;
 2-8     $ 2,862,203    Midwestern State University;
 2-9     $20,217,740    University of North Texas;
2-10     $10,174,500    The University of Texas--Pan American and The
2-11                    University of Texas at Brownsville;
2-12     $ 6,468,273    Stephen F. Austin State University;
2-13     $ 3,640,000    University of North Texas Health Science Center at
2-14                    Fort Worth;
2-15     $23,181,556    Texas State University System Administration and the
2-16                    following component institutions: Angelo State
2-17                    University; Sam Houston State University; Southwest
2-18                    Texas State University; Sul Ross State University
2-19                    including Rio Grande College [Uvalde Center];
2-20     $ 8,199,288    Texas Southern University (includes allocation of
2-21                    $1,000,000 for compliance with Texas Desegregation
2-22                    Plan);
2-23     $16,887,085    Texas Tech University;
2-24     $ 7,735,000    Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center;
2-25     $ 6,849,160    Texas Woman's University;
2-26     $37,726,969    University of Houston System Administration and the
 3-1                    following component institutions: University of
 3-2                    Houston; University of Houston--Victoria; University
 3-3                    of Houston--Clear Lake; University of
 3-4                    Houston--Downtown;
 3-5     $12,167,120    Texas A&M University--Corpus Christi; Texas A&M
 3-6                    International University; Texas A&M
 3-7                    University--Kingsville; West Texas A&M University;
 3-8                    and
 3-9     $ 3,850,000    Texas State Technical College System Administration
3-10                    and the following component campuses, but not its
3-11                    extension centers or programs:  Texas State
3-12                    Technical College-Amarillo; Texas State Technical
3-13                    College-Harlingen; Texas State Technical
3-14                    College-Sweetwater; Texas State Technical
3-15                    College--Waco.
3-16           SECTION 2.  The importance of this legislation and the
3-17     crowded condition of the calendars in both houses create an
3-18     emergency and an imperative public necessity that the
3-19     constitutional rule requiring bills to be read on three several
3-20     days in each house be suspended, and this rule is hereby suspended,
3-21     and that this Act take effect and be in force from and after its
3-22     passage, and it is so enacted.