By Harris                                              S.B. No. 481
         76R5434 JSA-D                           
                                A BILL TO BE ENTITLED
 1-1                                   AN ACT
 1-2     relating to the purchase of periodical subscriptions by certain
 1-3     institutions of higher education with constitutional funds.
 1-5           SECTION 1.  Section 62.021(a), Education Code, is amended to
 1-6     read as follows:
 1-7           (a)  Each fiscal year, an eligible institution is entitled to
 1-8     receive an amount allocated in accordance with this section from
 1-9     funds appropriated by Article VII, Section 17(a), of the
1-10     Constitution of Texas.  The comptroller of public accounts shall
1-11     distribute funds allocated under this subsection only on
1-12     presentation of a claim and issuance of a warrant in accordance
1-13     with Section 403.071, Government Code.  The comptroller may not
1-14     issue a warrant from any funds allocated under this subsection
1-15     before the delivery of goods or services described in Section 17,
1-16     Article VII, Texas Constitution, except for the payment of
1-17     principal or interest on bonds or notes or the purchase of a
1-18     periodical subscription for a period not  to exceed one year.  The
1-19     allocation of funds under this subsection is made in accordance
1-20     with an equitable formula consisting of the following  elements:
1-21     space deficit, facilities condition, institutional complexity,
1-22     separate allocations for medical units and the Texas State
1-23     Technical College System, and an additional allocation for Texas
1-24     Southern University for compliance with the Texas Desegregation
 2-1     Plan.  The amounts allocated by the formula are as follows:
 2-2     $ 5,572,558    Texas A&M University--Commerce [East Texas State
 2-3                    University] including Texas A&M
 2-4                    University--Texarkana [East Texas  State University
 2-5                    at Texarkana];
 2-6     $ 9,468,548    Lamar University including Lamar University at
 2-7                    Orange and Lamar University at Port Arthur;
 2-8     $ 2,862,203    Midwestern State University;
 2-9     $20,217,740    University of North Texas;
2-10     $10,174,500    The University of Texas--Pan American and The
2-11                    University of Texas at Brownsville;
2-12     $ 6,468,273    Stephen F. Austin State University;
2-13     $ 3,640,000    University of North Texas Health Science Center at
2-14                    Fort Worth;
2-15     $23,181,556    Texas State University System Administration and the
2-16                    following component institutions: Angelo State
2-17                    University; Sam Houston State  University; Southwest
2-18                    Texas State University; Sul Ross State University
2-19                    including Rio Grande College [Uvalde Center];
2-20     $ 8,199,288    Texas Southern University (includes allocation of
2-21                    $1,000,000 for compliance with Texas Desegregation
2-22                    Plan);
2-23     $16,887,085    Texas Tech University;
2-24     $ 7,735,000    Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center;
2-25     $ 6,849,160    Texas Woman's University;
2-26     $37,726,969    University of Houston System Administration and the
2-27                    following component institutions: University of
 3-1                    Houston; University of  Houston--Victoria;
 3-2                    University of Houston--Clear Lake; University of
 3-3                    Houston--Downtown;
 3-4     $12,167,120    Texas A & M University--Corpus Christi; Texas A & M
 3-5                    International University; Texas A & M
 3-6                    University--Kingsville; West Texas A & M University;
 3-7                    and
 3-8     $ 3,850,000    Texas State Technical College System Administration
 3-9                    and the following component campuses, but not its
3-10                    extension centers or programs: Texas State Technical
3-11                    College-Amarillo; Texas State Technical
3-12                    College-Harlingen; Texas State Technical
3-13                    College-Sweetwater; Texas State Technical
3-14                    College--Waco.
3-15           SECTION 2.  The importance of this legislation and the
3-16     crowded condition of the calendars in both houses create an
3-17     emergency and an imperative public necessity that the
3-18     constitutional rule requiring bills to be read on three several
3-19     days in each house be suspended, and this rule is hereby suspended,
3-20     and that this Act take effect and be in force from and after its
3-21     passage, and it is so enacted.