SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION 
                            Tuesday, October 12, 1999 
                                     9:30 am 
                                 Senate Chamber 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.11, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Education  
         was held on Tuesday, October 12, 1999 in the Senate Chamber at  
         Austin, Texas.   
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Teel Bivins                     Senator Gregory Luna 
         Senator David Cain                      Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Jane Nelson                     Senator Bill Ratliff 
         Senator Royce West                      Senator David Sibley 
         Senator Judith Zaffirini 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 9:35 am.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted.   
         The following members arrived after the roll was called:   
         The Chair laid out the proposed committee rules for discussion  
         and adoption.  Senator Zaffirini moved that the rules be  
         adopted, there being no objection, the motion prevailed. 
         The Chair outlined the committee charges and the committee  
         discussed its objectives for the interim. 
         The Chair called the following witnesses to testify before the  
         committee on Charge 3: 
         Commissioner Jim Nelson, Texas Education Agency 
         Chris Cloudt, Associate Commissioner, Texas Education Agency 
         Bob Moore, Superintendent, Amarillo ISD 
         Pat Forgione, Superintendent, Austin ISD 
         Manny Soto, Associate Superintendent, Division of Instruction,  
         Ysleta ISD 
         Richard F. Dinan, Audit Manager, State Auditor's Office 
         Albert Cortez, Intercultural Development Research Association  
         Martin Pena, Texas Association of School Administrators  
         (TASA)/Texas Association of School Boards (TASB) 
         Richard Halpin, American Institute for Learning Charter School 
         Bruce Elfant, Constable, Travis County 
         Jack Kelly, Texas State Teachers Association (TSTA) 
         Rene Lara, Texas Federation of Teachers (TFT) 
         Holly Eaton, Texas Classroom Teachers Association (TCTA) 
         Brock Gregg, Association of Texas Professional Educators  
         Senator Bivins postponed testimony on Charge 4, Senate Bill 4  
         until the next hearing to be held on October 25th, 1999.   
         Closing remarks from the Chair. 
         There being no further business, at 1:55 pm Senator Nelson  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the Chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Teel Bivins, Chair 
         Krissy Lilljedahl, Clerk