SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION 
                            Thursday, February 10, 2000 
                                     9:00 a.m. 
                      University of North Texas System Center 
                                   Dallas, Texas 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Education was  
         held on Thursday, February 10, 2000, in the University of North  
         Texas System Center 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Teel Bivins                     Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator David Cain                      Senator David Sibley 
         Senator Jane Nelson                     Senator Judith Zaffirini 
         Senator Bill Ratliff 
         Senator Leticia Van de Putte 
         Senator Royce West 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 9:05 a.m.  There being  
         a quorum present, the following business was transacted:   
         Senator West moved adoption of previous committee minutes, there  
         being no objection, the minutes were adopted. 
         Opening remarks by Chairman Bivins and committee members. 
         Welcoming remarks by Ron Kirk, Mayor of Dallas; Lee Jackson,  
         Dallas County judge; Dr. Alfred Hurley, Chancellor of the  
         University of North Texas System, and Richard Knight. 
         Chairman Bivins recognized the presence of Representative Kenn  
         The committee heard invited testimony.  Witness list attached. 
         The committee recessed for lunch at 12:30 p.m. 
         The committee reconvened at 1:10 p.m. 
         The committee heard public testimony.  Witness list attached. 
         Senator West assumed the Chair at 3:30 p.m. 
         There being no further business, at 4:30 p.m. Senator West moved  
         that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of the  
         chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Teel Bivins, Chair 
         Krissy Lilljedahl, Clerk