SENATE COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION 
                              Wednesday, April 5, 2000 
                                     9:30 a.m. 
               Community Education Partnership School, Houston, Texas 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.18, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Education was  
         held on Wednesday, April 5, 2000, in the Community Education  
         Partnership School, Houston, Texas 
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Teel Bivins                     Senator David Cain 
         Senator Jane Nelson                     Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Judith Zaffirini                Senator Bill Ratliff 
                                                 Senator David Sibley 
                                                 Senator Leticia Van de  
                                                 Senator Royce West 
         The chair called the meeting to order at 9:35 a.m.  The  
         following business was transacted:   
         Opening remarks by Chairman Bivins. 
         Opening remarks by Senator Gallegos. 
         Pledge of Allegiance. 
         Opening remarks by Representative Noriega. 
         Senator Zaffirini moved that the minutes for the previous  
         hearing by approved;  there being no objections, the minutes  
         were approved. 
         The Committee heard invited testimony.  Witness list attached. 
         The Committee recessed for lunch at 12:15 pm. 
         The Committee reconvened at 12:45 pm. 
         The Committee heard additional invited testimony. 
         The Committee heard public testimony.  Witness list attached. 
         Senator Ellis was present and made remarks to the Committee and  
         hearing attendees. 
         There being no further business, at 4:50 p.m. Senator Bivins  
         moved that the Committee stand recessed subject to the call of  
         the chair.  Without objection, it was so ordered.   
         Senator Teel Bivins, Chair 
         Krissy Lilljedahl, Clerk