SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE 
                           Wednesday, January 27, 1999 
                                    9:00 a.m. 
                         Capitol Extension, Room E1.036 
         Pursuant to a notice posted in accordance with Senate Rule  
         11.11, a public hearing of the Senate Committee on Finance was  
         held on Wednesday, January 27, 1999 in the Capitol Extension,  
         Room E1.036, at Austin, Texas.   
         MEMBERS PRESENT:                        MEMBERS ABSENT: 
         Senator Bill Ratliff                   
         Senator Carlos Truan 
         Senator Gonzalo Barrientos 
         Senator John Carona 
         Senator Robert Duncan 
         Senator Troy Fraser 
         Senator Mario Gallegos, Jr. 
         Senator Jon Lindsay 
         Senator Mike Moncrief 
         Senator Steve Ogden 
         Senator Royce West 
         The Chair called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m.  There  
         being a quorum present, the following business was transacted.   
         The following members arrived after the roll was called: None. 
         The Chair recognized John Keel, representing the Legislative  
         Budget Board; Billy Hamilton, representing the Comptroller's  
         Office; Tony Fabelo, representing the Criminal Justice Policy  
         Council; and Lawrence Alwin, representing the State Auditor's  
         Office to provide an overview of key issues included in the  
         budget recommendations (Senate Bill 2).  
         The Chair recognized the following witnesses to provide  
         testimony regarding Legislative Budget Board recommendations:  
         Board of Registration for Professional Engineers 
               John Speed, Executive Director 
               Herb Treat, Vice Chair 
              Registering, but not testifying: 
                Joe Paul Jones, Board Member 
                Randi Warrington, Deputy Executive Director 
         State Office of Administrative Hearings 
                Shelia Bailey Taylor, Administrative Law Judge 
                Lisabeth Yeager, Director of Fiscal Services 
         Board of Architectural Examiners 
                Cathy Hendericks, Executive Director 
                John O. Greer, Chairman 
                Steve Ellinger, Board Member 
                Cleve Turner, Board Member 
              Written testimony only: 
                Christine Briseno-Boxe, representing self 
                Daniel Reece, representing self 
                Heather Solis, representing self 
                Paul Detke, representing self 
              Registering, but not testifying: 
                E.D. "Dave" Dorchester, P.E., staff resource witness 
                Diane Steinbrueck, representing self 
                John Nyfeler, representing self 
                Kevin Conner, representing self 
         Structural Pest Control Board 
              Jo-Christy Brown,  Chairman 
              Gary Gillen, Board Member 
              Benny Mathis, Executive Director 
         Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners 
              Ron Allen, Executive Director 
              Registering, but not testifying: 
                Sharon Matthews, Board Member 
                Karen Alexander, Fiscal Officer 
         Cosmetology Commission 
              Comer J. Cottrell, Chairman 
              Delores L. Alspaugh, Executive Director 
              Penny Black, Chief Financial Officer 
              Registering, but not testifying: 
                Larry Perkins, staff resource witness 
         Board of Barber Examiners 
              William "Kirk" Kuykendall, Board Member 
              Will K. Brown, Executive Director 
              Registering, but not testifying: 
                Deborah Almasov, staff resource witness 
         Board of Public Accountancy 
              K. Michael Conaway, Chairman 
              Registering, but not testifying: 
                William Treacy, Executive Director 
                Jimmie L. Mason, Board Member 
                Jerry A. Davis, Board Member 
                Alan Hermanson, staff resource witness 
         Board of Plumbing Examiners 
              J. DeWitt Morrow, Jr., Chairman 
              Doretta A. Conrad, Administrator 
              Registering, but not testifying: 
                Jim Fowler, staff resource witness 
         There being no further business, at 5:30 p.m. Senator Ratliff  
         announced that the Committee would stand recessed until 9:00  
         a.m. Thursday, January 28, 1999.  Without objection, it was so  
         Senator Bill Ratliff, Chair 
         Patricia Hicks, Clerk